Slashdot is powered by your submissions, so send in your scoop

 



Forgot your password?
typodupeerror

Slashdot videos: Now with more Slashdot!

  • View

  • Discuss

  • Share

We've improved Slashdot's video section; now you can view our video interviews, product close-ups and site visits with all the usual Slashdot options to comment, share, etc. No more walled garden! It's a work in progress -- we hope you'll check it out (Learn more about the recent updates).

×

Review of BeOS Developer Edition 1.1 222

Posted by Hemos
from the reviving-the-dead dept.
TweetZilla writes "Good review if you are a fan of BeOS. Not ready for regular users but tinkerers will probably love it to death. OSNews is carrying the story."
This discussion has been archived. No new comments can be posted.

Review of BeOS Developer Edition 1.1

Comments Filter:
  • by Anonymous Coward on Tuesday February 04, 2003 @04:01PM (#5225495)
    too bad nobody can love it back to life
  • Be (Score:4, Funny)

    by grub (11606) <slashdot@grub.net> on Tuesday February 04, 2003 @04:05PM (#5225531) Homepage Journal

    Shouldn't "Be" be called "HasBeen"?
  • by Anonymous Coward on Tuesday February 04, 2003 @04:09PM (#5225570)
    The specs look interesting, but what can BeOS do that I can't make Linux do after a weekend spent reading manuals and tweaking config files?
  • by bongoras (632709) on Tuesday February 04, 2003 @04:12PM (#5225601) Homepage

    from the section entitled "BeOS in all it's glory":

    I have an adsl connection here at home and this is where I ran into my first problem. There is a package for BeOS called PPPoE which lets you connect to any adsl provider that uses the PPPoE protocol. Of course, I installed it, configured it and dialed up my ISP. I get a connection, but only for about 3 seconds. Major pain in the ass! So I looked through the readme file, changed all the appropriate settings and still no cigar. "Well", says I, "It's time for the old tech support forum!" I rebooted into an OS with a decent PPPoE implementation, logged onto BeOSOnline and found an interesting thread in their forum suggesting I use BONE 7a. BONE stands for BeOS Networking Environment and is of fairly dubious legality. It was supposed to be part of the last release of BeOS, just before it got sold to palm but was supposedly never officially released. As Be was selling BeOS, some developer(s) on the project decided to leek BONE onto the net. Good old hacker disregard for authority! Finding BONE is not easy, but once I downloaded it I was supposedly ready to go. How wrong I was! I downloaded BONE to my windows partition as I already knew BeOS can mount, read and right to Fat32 partitions. I unpacked the Zip file, opened a terminal and ran the install script. Time to reboot. This is when the shit hit the proverbial fan. Instead of looking at my nice new desktop I was faced with the textual garble that is the kernel debugger!

    Whew... so as long as you don't wanna use it for anything, BeOS is GLORIOUS!

  • Re:Be (Score:5, Funny)

    by Wolfier (94144) on Tuesday February 04, 2003 @04:14PM (#5225620)
    Dude, Palm has already renamed BeOs to WasOs.
  • Re:Egads (Score:3, Funny)

    by Ironix (165274) <[steffen] [at] [norgren.ca]> on Tuesday February 04, 2003 @04:28PM (#5225764) Homepage
    The review is interesting but it's been a while since I've seen such a glaring example of bad spelling and grammar actually make it as a live article in a high-traffic website dedicated to technical stuff.

    I think that would be:

    The review is interesting, but it's been a while since I've seen such a glaring example of bad spelling and grammar in a live article on a high-traffic website dedicated to technical stuff.

    But that's just par for the course on /.
  • Re:Egads (Score:5, Funny)

    by Troll_Kamikaze (646926) on Tuesday February 04, 2003 @04:29PM (#5225778)

    The review is interesting but it's been a while since I've seen such a glaring example of bad spelling and grammar actually make it as a live article in a high-traffic website dedicated to technical stuff.

    Really? Maybe you should give this site [slashdot.org] a try.

  • by stratjakt (596332) on Tuesday February 04, 2003 @04:46PM (#5225928) Journal
    It's Free.

    Not Free as in Beer, nor Free as in Speech.

    But Free as in 'not worth Jack-Shit'
  • by LordNimon (85072) on Tuesday February 04, 2003 @05:12PM (#5226147)
    Seriously, the BeOS user community has dwindled such that only the rabid remain.

    No shit. As an OS/2 user, the BeOS fans make me look like the popular kid in high school!

"We don't care. We don't have to. We're the Phone Company."

Working...