You're not the only person who thinks that way. I made the mistake of creating a YouTube account for someone (else) while I was logged into my Gmail, and it automatically (without prompting or warning) linked the two accounts (do a search for "unlink google and youtube accounts" for horror stories). If you do that nowadays, you can't "unlink" the accounts in any way. All you can do is delete an account and recreate it. Of course, once a Google username is taken, it can NEVER be used again, because you don't "delete" accounts with Google, you just "inactivate" them, which makes them permanently unusable. My only complaint is that we're not given the choice when we create new accounts. If we had that, it wouldn't be a big deal, but this is like the Buzz fiasco. Hopefully Google learn quickly this time, too.