I very carefully avoid giving Facebook information [like my cell phone numbers and most of my email addresses, etc] that I don't want them to have [or by subsequent TOS change, share with the world].
But I can't prevent my gullible sister-in-law from uploading it all to them anyway through her careless use of Facebook's iPhone app or her blithe acceptance of having her address book vacuumed up in the alleged search for alleged friends. So even if I don't give it to them, it's too late. They have it already. And as we all know, once they have it they are never deleting it.
Facebook can't be the only one guilty of this, Google and Microsoft must do it as well.
Unfortunately, it would seem that if you’ve ever told anyone anything about yourself that they might have put in their address book [and that includes the note field] it is probably on the cloud now.