That is pretty much the plan. Old game will be imported into new game when 2.0 is done. The only reason is they don't want to change the name. They SAY, they need the subs to pay the devs for the 'new' version. I say screw that, the CC I signed up with is expired, they won't be billing me.
The issue I have is if you stopped playing, even with it being free, they will begin autobilling if you didn't cancel your 'free' game.