Hint: you can still see the onld screen with new permissions marked as NEW by scrolling all the way down in app description to PERMISSIONS and clicking on"View details".
But I completely agree with you. Totally lame move by Google. I want to see this screen when I press the update button. Config option for advanced users would be sufficient.