Slashdot Items Tagged "piracy"

Date / Time Story
Thursday November 16, 2017 @02:49PM Hollywood Strikes Back Against Illegal Streaming Kodi Add-ons
Monday November 06, 2017 @06:11PM US Court Grants ISPs and Search Engine Blockade of Sci-Hub
Thursday November 02, 2017 @08:42AM Pirate TV Services Are Taking a Bite Out of Cable Company Revenue
Monday October 30, 2017 @02:31PM How Kodi Took Over Piracy
Monday October 30, 2017 @08:55AM Google Denies Demoting the Pirate Bay In Some Countries
Thursday October 19, 2017 @04:05PM Denuvo's DRM Now Being Cracked Within Hours of Release
Tuesday October 17, 2017 @03:51PM Netflix, Amazon, Movie Studios Sue Over TickBox Streaming Device
Wednesday October 11, 2017 @02:29PM Pirate Bay is Mining Cryptocurrency Again, No Opt Out
Tuesday October 10, 2017 @02:16PM It's Illegal to Pirate Films in Iran, Unless You're the Government
Tuesday October 03, 2017 @04:34PM Judge Recommends ISP, Search Engine Blocking of Sci-Hub In the US
Tuesday October 03, 2017 @01:35PM Judge Recommends ISP and Search Engine Blocking of Sci-Hub in the US
Monday October 02, 2017 @03:00PM Supreme Court Won't Hear Kim Dotcom's Civil Forfeiture Case
Friday September 29, 2017 @11:36PM Hollywood's International War on Kodi Plugins And Video-Streaming Boxes
Wednesday September 27, 2017 @09:55PM Bell Canada Wants Pirate Websites Blocked For Canadians
Monday September 25, 2017 @06:31PM Star Trek: Discovery Nearly Cracks Pirate Bay's Top 10 In Less Than 24 Hours
Thursday September 21, 2017 @03:09PM EU Paid For Report That Said Piracy Isn't Harmful -- And Tried To Hide Findings
Saturday September 16, 2017 @11:23AM Can The Pirate Bay Replace Ads With A Bitcoin Miner?
Friday September 15, 2017 @04:21PM Warning: 'MetalKettle' Repository For Kodi Becomes Vulnerable After GitHub Takeover
Saturday September 09, 2017 @02:30PM Kodi Is Fighting Trademark Trolls
Tuesday September 05, 2017 @04:16PM Sci-Hub Faces $4.8 Million Piracy Damages and ISP Blocking
Monday September 04, 2017 @12:12PM Amid Crackdown On Torrent Websites, Some Users Move To Google Drive To Distribute Movies and Shows
Monday August 28, 2017 @03:07PM The Mayweather-McGregor Fight Shows It's Impossible to Stop Social Media Streaming of Big Events
Friday August 25, 2017 @03:19PM New Zealand High Court Rules Operation Against Kim Dotcom Was Illegal
Monday August 21, 2017 @08:43AM The Windows App Store is Full of Pirate Streaming Apps
Wednesday August 16, 2017 @03:56PM Roku Gets Tough On Pirate Channels, Warns Users
Friday August 11, 2017 @02:28AM Disney Ditching Netflix Keeps Piracy Relevant
Wednesday August 02, 2017 @01:25PM Font Maker Sues Universal Music Over 'Pirated' The Vamps Logo
Tuesday July 25, 2017 @03:29PM Cloudflare Wants to Eliminate 'Moot' Pirate Site Blocking Threat
Friday July 21, 2017 @10:38PM Kodi Magazine 'Directs Readers To Pirate Content'
Wednesday July 19, 2017 @04:31PM Game of Thrones Pirates Being Monitored By HBO, Warnings On The Way
Wednesday July 12, 2017 @01:53PM Net Neutrality is Not a Pirates' Fight Anymore
Friday July 07, 2017 @05:41AM Stream-ripping Is 'Fastest Growing' Music Piracy
Tuesday July 04, 2017 @08:54PM Sci-Hub 'Pirate Bay For Scientists' Sued by American Chemical Society Over Cloned Site
Monday June 26, 2017 @12:06PM Indie Game Developer Shares Free Keys on The Pirate Bay
Friday June 23, 2017 @07:40PM Sci-Hub Ordered To Pay $15 Million In Piracy Damages
Friday June 16, 2017 @04:19PM Alleged KickassTorrents Owner Considers 'Voluntary Surrender' To the US
Friday June 16, 2017 @02:41PM Movie Piracy Cost Australian Network 'Hundreds of Millions of Dollars'
Thursday June 15, 2017 @12:25PM Pirate Bay Is Infringing Copyright, European Court of Justice Rules
Tuesday June 13, 2017 @04:14PM HBO, Netflix, Other Hollywood Companies Join Forces To Fight Piracy
Friday June 09, 2017 @04:21PM Pirate Bay Founder: We've Lost the Internet, It's All About Damage Control Now
Monday June 05, 2017 @03:42PM Hackers Leak Eight Episodes of An Unreleased ABC Show
Friday June 02, 2017 @03:16PM Hollywood Sees Illegal Streaming Devices as 'Piracy 3.0'
Saturday May 27, 2017 @12:45AM The Lawyer Who Founded Prenda Law Just Got Disbarred
Friday May 26, 2017 @05:18PM Facebook Bans Sale of Piracy-Enabling Set-Top Boxes
Friday May 26, 2017 @03:00PM Sean Parker Is Going To Great Lengths To Ensure 'Screening Room' Is Piracy Free, Patents Reveal
Friday May 26, 2017 @05:11AM Disney Chief Bob Iger Doesn't Believe Movie Hack Threat Was Real
Saturday May 20, 2017 @02:14PM Movie Piracy Blackmail Plot Fails In India, Six Arrested
Thursday May 18, 2017 @02:53PM Elsevier Wants $15 Million In 'Piracy' Damages From Sci-Hub and Libgen
Wednesday May 17, 2017 @01:30PM Popular Torrent Site ExtraTorrent Permanently Shuts Down
Friday May 12, 2017 @09:05AM Google Releases Study Defending YouTube's Value To Music Biz; Trade Bodies Hit Back
Tuesday May 09, 2017 @01:51PM Spotify Used 'Pirate' MP3 Files In Its Early Days: Report
Sunday May 07, 2017 @09:00PM Microsoft Patents Flagging Technology For 'Repeat Offenders' Of Pirated Content
Thursday May 04, 2017 @07:56PM Digital Economy Act: Illegal Kodi Streams Could Now Land Users In Prison For 10 Years
Wednesday May 03, 2017 @05:12PM 'First Pirated Ultra HD Blu-Ray Disk' Appears Online
Sunday April 30, 2017 @04:54PM Hacker Leaks 'Orange Is the New Black' Episodes After Failing To Extort Netflix
Wednesday April 26, 2017 @03:28PM Pirate Site Blockades Violate Free Speech, Mexico's Supreme Court Rules
Tuesday April 25, 2017 @11:58PM Five Years Later, Legal Megaupload Data Is Still Trapped On Dead Servers
Friday April 21, 2017 @01:55PM Court Rules Fan Subtitles On TV and Movies Are Illegal
Wednesday April 19, 2017 @03:15PM Pirate Bay Founder Launches Anonymous Domain Registration Service
Friday April 14, 2017 @01:45AM Cloudflare Doesn't Want To Become the 'Piracy Police'
Thursday April 13, 2017 @09:24AM Pirate Bay Founder: 'I Have Given Up'
Tuesday April 11, 2017 @02:11PM The Kodi Development Team Wants To Be Legitimate and Bring DRM To the Platform.
Friday March 31, 2017 @11:11PM Amazon Bans Sales of Media Player Boxes That Promote Piracy
Tuesday March 28, 2017 @02:26PM BitTorrent To Refocus On What Made It Rich - uTorrent
Monday March 27, 2017 @12:09PM 'Pirate' Movie Streaming Sites Declared Legal By Italian Court
Wednesday March 22, 2017 @04:31PM W3C Erects DRM As Web Standard
Friday March 17, 2017 @09:05AM Ebook Pirates Are Relatively Old and Wealthy, Study Finds
Wednesday March 15, 2017 @03:09PM Court Orders ISP To Hand Identities Behind 5,300 IP Addresses To Copyright Trolls
Saturday March 11, 2017 @03:05PM How Seven Movie Studios Forced A Pirated Movie Site Offline
Friday March 10, 2017 @10:26PM A Prenda Copyright Troll Finally Pleaded Guilty
Friday March 10, 2017 @08:43PM Filmmakers Take Dutch State To Court Over Lost Piracy Revenue
Thursday March 09, 2017 @01:35PM Despite Netflix and Amazon Prime, Most of the World Watches Pirated Content
Monday March 06, 2017 @02:58PM Streaming Pirate Content Isn't Illegal, UK Trading Standards Says
Friday March 03, 2017 @08:43PM Ask Slashdot: How Would You Handle A Bogus Copyright Infringement Notice?
Saturday February 25, 2017 @01:23AM Seven Film Studios Want 41 Web Sites Blocked By Australian ISPs
Thursday February 23, 2017 @01:11PM Google Says Almost Every Recent 'Trusted' DMCA Notices Were Bogus
Tuesday February 21, 2017 @01:36PM Online Piracy Can Boost Comic Book Sales, Research Finds
Monday February 20, 2017 @09:28AM Google and Microsoft To Crackdown On Piracy Sites In Search Results
Monday February 20, 2017 @12:32AM Kim Dotcom Can Be Extradited, Rules A New Zealand Court
Friday February 17, 2017 @03:30PM 70 Percent of Young Swedish Men Are Video Pirates, Study Says
Thursday February 16, 2017 @03:56PM Swedish Court Rules: 'Block the Pirate Bay For Next 3 Years'
Thursday February 16, 2017 @02:02PM CloudFlare Puts Pirate Sites on New IP Addresses, Avoids Cogent Blockade
Tuesday February 14, 2017 @02:55PM Canada Remains a 'Safe Haven' For Online Piracy, Rightsholders Claim
Monday February 13, 2017 @03:19PM Ransomware Insurance Is Coming
Friday February 10, 2017 @09:43AM Internet Backbone Provider Cogent Blocks Pirate Bay and Other 'Pirate' Sites
Wednesday February 08, 2017 @03:55PM Police Arrest Five Men For Selling Kodi Boxes 'Fully Loaded' With Illegal Streaming Apps
Tuesday February 07, 2017 @10:00AM Movie Industry Wants Irish ISPs To Block Pirate Movie Streaming Portals
Monday February 06, 2017 @01:42AM DRM Company Denuvo Forgets To Secure Its Server, Leaks Two Years Of Emails
Thursday February 02, 2017 @06:01PM Windows DRM-Protected Files Used To Decloak Tor Browser Users
Thursday February 02, 2017 @12:29PM Film Industry's Latest Search Engine Draws Traffic With 'Pirate' Keywords'
Wednesday February 01, 2017 @04:23PM 2.5 Million Xbox and PlayStation Gamers' Details Have Been Leaked From Piracy Forums
Tuesday January 31, 2017 @10:10AM Swedish Govt Mulls Tougher Punishments To Tackle Pirate Sites
Sunday January 29, 2017 @12:03AM ISPs Finally Abandon The Copyright Alert System
Wednesday January 25, 2017 @03:30PM UK 'Pirates' Get 20-Day Grace Period After Each Warning
Thursday January 19, 2017 @02:47PM 32% of All US Adults Watch Pirated Content
Wednesday January 04, 2017 @09:30AM Piracy 'Warnings' Fail To Boost Box Office Revenues, Research Says
Sunday January 01, 2017 @08:20PM Despite Piracy Claims, North American Box Office Hits Record $11.4 Billion In 2016
Friday December 30, 2016 @09:14PM Creepy Site Claims To Reveal Torrenting Histories
Friday December 30, 2016 @02:21PM Bad Year For Piracy: 2016 Was The Year Torrent Giants Fell
Tuesday December 27, 2016 @02:12PM Torrent Website ExtraTorrent Under DDoS Attacks; Pirate Bay Also Down
Monday December 26, 2016 @09:21PM Top Spotify Lawyer: Attracting Pirates is in Our DNA
Friday December 23, 2016 @05:57PM BitTorrent Live's 'Cable Killer' P2P Video App Finally Hits iOS
Friday December 23, 2016 @08:44AM US Government Targets Pirate Bay and Other 'Piracy Havens'
Thursday December 15, 2016 @01:43AM The Pirate Bay, BitTorrent Websites To Be Blocked In Australia, Federal Court Rules
Monday December 12, 2016 @09:15AM Grand Tour 'Most Illegally Downloaded TV Show In History'
Wednesday December 07, 2016 @09:18AM Falsely Accused Movie Pirate Deserves $17K Compensation, Court Says
Monday December 05, 2016 @08:57AM Embedding Isn't Copyright Infringement, Says Italian Court
Friday December 02, 2016 @10:21AM Free TV-Show Streaming Hurts Online Sales, Research Finds
Thursday December 01, 2016 @12:42PM UK ISPs To Start Sending 'Piracy Alerts' Soon
Monday November 28, 2016 @03:50PM Google Asked to Remove a Billion 'Pirate' Search Results in a Year
Friday November 25, 2016 @02:02PM $1 Billion Getty Images Public Domain Photograph Dispute is Over
Wednesday November 23, 2016 @09:54AM Opera Browser Asked to Blacklist Pirate Sites in 'Turbo Mode'
Tuesday November 22, 2016 @09:10AM Aussie Internet Pirates Are The Best Customers
Monday November 21, 2016 @03:46PM 4K Netflix Arrives On Windows 10, But Only Via Microsoft's Edge Browser
Friday November 18, 2016 @05:58PM Major Cyberlocker EX.UA To Shut Down Amid Police Crackdown
Thursday November 17, 2016 @11:22PM Music Torrent Site What.CD Has Been Shut Down
Wednesday November 16, 2016 @04:34PM Police Raid Pirate Site, Seize 60 Servers Following MPAA Complaint
Tuesday November 15, 2016 @09:59AM US Navy Denies Pirating Software on 550K Computers, Says It Had Bought Licenses For 38 Machines
Friday November 11, 2016 @01:59PM University Bans BitTorrent To Stop Flood of Infringement Notices
Friday November 04, 2016 @02:58PM Cloudflare Slams MPAA and RIAA's 'Distorted' Piracy Claims
Wednesday November 02, 2016 @04:29PM Facebook Deletes Music Piracy Groups Following Complaints
Tuesday November 01, 2016 @09:45AM CloudFlare Can Be Ordered To Disclose Science Piracy Website Owner Details
Monday October 31, 2016 @02:57PM 86-Year Old Grandma Accused of Pirating a Zombie Game
Sunday October 30, 2016 @03:18PM Pirate Party Gains Seats In Iceland's Election
Wednesday October 26, 2016 @01:55PM Repeat Infringers Can Be Mere Downloaders, Court Rules
Tuesday October 25, 2016 @03:25PM Warner Bros Claims Agency Ran Its Own Pirate Movie Site
Friday October 21, 2016 @08:29PM Cisco Develops System To Automatically Cut-Off Pirate Video Streams
Thursday October 20, 2016 @04:16PM KickassTorrents Lawyer: 'Torrent Sites Do Not Violate Criminal Copyright Laws'
Wednesday October 19, 2016 @09:32AM Spanish Police Arrest Their First Ever eBook Pirate
Monday October 17, 2016 @01:53AM More Performers Are Demanding Audiences Lock Up Their Phones
Friday October 14, 2016 @03:55PM Shadow Warrior 2 Developers Say DRM Is a Waste of Time
Thursday October 13, 2016 @10:31AM RIAA Seizes Wrong MP3Skull Domain
Tuesday October 11, 2016 @04:52PM Court Rejects Massive Torrent Damages Claim, Admin Avoids Jail
Thursday October 06, 2016 @03:55PM Chrome and Firefox Flag The Pirate Bay As a 'Phishing' Site...Again
Monday October 03, 2016 @04:39PM 'If KickassTorrents is a Criminal Operation, Google Should Start Worrying'
Wednesday September 28, 2016 @03:44PM Cloudflare: We Can't Shut Down Pirate Sites
Tuesday September 27, 2016 @12:12AM YouTube-MP3 Ripping Site Sued By IFPI, RIAA and BPI
Thursday September 22, 2016 @11:08AM Hackers Seed Torrent Trackers With Malware Disguised as Popular Downloads
Wednesday September 21, 2016 @03:51PM Stop Piracy? Legal Alternatives Beat Legal Threats, Research Shows
Thursday September 15, 2016 @03:14PM Chrome and Firefox Block Pirate Bay Over 'Harmful Programs'
Wednesday September 14, 2016 @04:26PM EU Commission Proposes Mandatory Piracy Filters For Online Services
Wednesday September 14, 2016 @10:12AM 10 Years in Prison For Online Pirates a Step Closer in the UK
Monday September 12, 2016 @10:15AM Ubuntu Torrent Removed From Google Due To DMCA Complaint
Monday September 05, 2016 @11:38AM Warner Bros Issues Takedown For Own Website
Monday September 05, 2016 @09:41AM Swedish ISP Attacks Copyright Trolls Over Trademark Infringement
Tuesday August 30, 2016 @01:42PM Europe's Net Neutrality Doesn't Ban BitTorrent Throttling
Tuesday August 30, 2016 @01:23AM Grumpy Cat Wants $600K From 'Pirating' Coffee Maker
Monday August 29, 2016 @06:14PM Judge Allows Kim Dotcom To Livestream Court Hearing
Sunday August 28, 2016 @01:26AM Kim Dotcom Will Revive Megaupload, Linking File Transfers To Bitcoin Microtransactions
Saturday August 27, 2016 @01:35PM BitTorrent Cases Filed By Malibu Media Will Proceed, Rules Judge
Thursday August 25, 2016 @05:26PM US Unveils Charges Against KickassTorrents, Names Two More Defendants
Wednesday August 24, 2016 @11:39AM Cloudflare Faces Lawsuit For Assisting Pirate Sites
Monday August 22, 2016 @03:35PM Cox Denies Liability for Pirating Subscribers, Appeals $25 Million Verdict
Sunday August 21, 2016 @10:07AM India Threatens 3-Year Jail Sentences For Viewing Blocked Torrents
Friday August 19, 2016 @06:17PM Scammers Use Harvard Education Platform to Promote Pirated Movies
Monday August 15, 2016 @02:28PM TorrentFreak Interviews The Pirate Bay Staff, As the Torrent Website Celebrates 13th Anniversary
Monday August 15, 2016 @01:02PM Reddit Tells Label It Won't Cough Up IP Address of Prerelease Music Pirate
Friday August 12, 2016 @09:22PM US Seizure of Kim Dotcom's Assets Will Stand, Says Appeals Court
Friday August 12, 2016 @11:12AM Rightscorp Threatens Every ISP in the United States
Monday August 08, 2016 @09:19PM EFF Asks FTC To Demand 'Truth In Labeling' For DRM
Thursday August 04, 2016 @10:29PM Popular BitTorrent Search Engine Site Torrentz.eu Mysteriously Disappears
Wednesday August 03, 2016 @03:47PM Microsoft, Google, Apple Could Be Requested To Actively Block Pirated Downloads, Says Report
Saturday July 30, 2016 @08:20PM Mr. Robot 'Plugs' uTorrent and Pirate Release Groups
Friday July 29, 2016 @09:45AM Movie Studios 'Take Down' Popular KAT Mirror
Wednesday July 27, 2016 @01:09PM James Cameron: Theater Experience Key To Containing Piracy
Thursday July 21, 2016 @02:44PM IsoHunt Launches Unofficial KAT Mirror
Wednesday July 20, 2016 @07:18PM Feds Seize KickassTorrents Domains and Arrest Owner In Poland
Wednesday July 20, 2016 @02:57PM US Navy Faces $600M Lawsuit For Allegedly Pirating 3D VR Software
Tuesday July 19, 2016 @03:22PM Google and Bing Have No Obligation To Censor Searches For Torrents
Friday July 15, 2016 @01:41PM 'Tor and Bitcoin Hinder Anti-Piracy Efforts'
Tuesday July 12, 2016 @03:07PM NBC Universal Patents a Way To Detect BitTorrent Pirates In Real-Time
Friday July 08, 2016 @03:54PM Fair Use Threatens Innovation, Copyright Holders Warn
Wednesday July 06, 2016 @03:19PM UK Bill Introduces 10 Year Prison Sentence for Online Pirates
Sunday July 03, 2016 @12:35PM ICANN: We Won't Pass Judgment On Pirate Sites
Monday June 27, 2016 @10:58PM Judge Dismisses Movie Piracy Case, IP-Address Doesn't Prove Anything
Friday June 24, 2016 @10:44PM From File-Sharing To Prison: The Story of a Jailed Megaupload Programmer
Friday June 24, 2016 @04:06PM Oculus Ditches DRM Hurdle, Allows HTC Vive Games On Rift Again
Friday June 24, 2016 @02:11PM Piracy Phishing Scam Targets US ISPs and Subscribers
Friday June 24, 2016 @10:51AM Chrome Bug Makes It Easy To Download Movies From Netflix and Amazon Prime
Monday June 20, 2016 @01:36PM High IQ Countries Have Less Software Piracy, Research Finds
Saturday June 18, 2016 @09:43AM Court Slams Record Companies in New Vimeo/DMCA Ruling
Thursday June 16, 2016 @10:55AM Pirate Bay Co-Founder Must Pay Record Labels $395,000
Tuesday June 14, 2016 @04:42PM Rhapsody Rebrands Itself As Napster
Friday June 10, 2016 @12:55PM Canada Federal Court Restrains Sale Of 'Pirate' Boxes
Wednesday June 08, 2016 @10:11AM Fake Gaming Torrents Download Unwanted Apps Instead of Popular Games
Wednesday June 08, 2016 @10:01AM KickassTorrents Enters The Dark Web, Adds Official Tor Address
Friday June 03, 2016 @09:03AM DVD Release Delays Boost Piracy and Hurt Sales, Study Shows
Tuesday May 31, 2016 @08:46AM YouTube Threatens Legal Action Against Video Downloader
Wednesday May 25, 2016 @03:30PM The Pirate Bay Sails Back To Its .ORG Domain
Friday May 20, 2016 @03:44PM Oculus No Longer Lets Customers Move Purchased Software To Non-Oculus Hardware
Thursday May 19, 2016 @07:51AM Filmmakers Ask 'Pirate' to Take Polygraph, Backtrack When He Agrees
Tuesday May 17, 2016 @07:19PM Copyright Trolls Rightscorp Are Teetering On The Verge Of Bankruptcy
Tuesday May 17, 2016 @12:37PM YouTube Is Guilty Of Criminal Racketeering, Grammy Winner Says
Saturday May 14, 2016 @09:28PM EFF Confronts World Copyright Committee
Friday May 13, 2016 @05:20PM The Pirate Bay Loses Its Main Domain Name In Court Battle
Saturday May 07, 2016 @07:30PM The Pirate Bay Now Blocked In Chrome, Firefox, And Safari
Monday May 02, 2016 @10:08AM Audiophile Torrent Site What.CD Fully Pwnable Thanks To Wrecked RNG
Sunday May 01, 2016 @03:06PM The Pirate Bay Gets a 'Massive' $9 in Donations Per Day
Friday April 29, 2016 @11:31AM US Calls Switzerland An Internet Piracy Haven
Wednesday April 27, 2016 @09:10AM After Netflix Crackdown On Border-Hopping, Canadians Ready To Return To Piracy