You usually have the right to bring a lawyer with you to court.
This is HIGHLY dependent on your state's laws. Arizona, for example, does not allow lawyers in small claims. Also, the cutoff for small claims is usually far less than the $25k mentioned. Arizona's is $2500 which is nearer to other states I've seen as well.