Spammers are pwning real accounts. How? 1
Submitted
by
MPAB
MPAB writes "In the last month I've received spam from my contacts announcing cheap stuff. It's in english though most of them write in spanish.
At first I thought it was a simple case of [replace name here] spam. But yesterday I got one such message from a close friend of mine and recognized many contacts in common, with their whole names, as taken from his own contact list in Yahoo mail and even with the short Yahoo propaganda line at the end of the message.
The post goes like this (not using HTML because my laptop's keyboard doesn't have "greater/smaller than" signs):
Dear friend,
i would like to introduce a good company who trades mainly in electornic products.
Now the company is under sales promotion,all the products are sold nearly at its cost.
They provide the best service to customers,they provide you with original products of
good quality,and what is more,the price is a surprising happiness to you!
It is realy a good chance for shopping.just grasp the opportunity,Now or never!
The web address: www.sneiec.com
Does anyone know what's happening here? I'm sure there's a mass scale stealing of usernames and passwords from Yahoo, Hotmail and Gmail; but I don't get where the leak may be. My friend says he's not used that particular amount in more than 6 months. Another option would be perhaps a fake Facebook-type "service" that's asking to look for contacts. I've googled pieces of the above phrase, but only get to forums spammed by this."
At first I thought it was a simple case of [replace name here] spam. But yesterday I got one such message from a close friend of mine and recognized many contacts in common, with their whole names, as taken from his own contact list in Yahoo mail and even with the short Yahoo propaganda line at the end of the message.
The post goes like this (not using HTML because my laptop's keyboard doesn't have "greater/smaller than" signs):
Dear friend,
i would like to introduce a good company who trades mainly in electornic products.
Now the company is under sales promotion,all the products are sold nearly at its cost.
They provide the best service to customers,they provide you with original products of
good quality,and what is more,the price is a surprising happiness to you!
It is realy a good chance for shopping.just grasp the opportunity,Now or never!
The web address: www.sneiec.com
Does anyone know what's happening here? I'm sure there's a mass scale stealing of usernames and passwords from Yahoo, Hotmail and Gmail; but I don't get where the leak may be. My friend says he's not used that particular amount in more than 6 months. Another option would be perhaps a fake Facebook-type "service" that's asking to look for contacts. I've googled pieces of the above phrase, but only get to forums spammed by this."