Slashdot Items Tagged "regulation"

Date / Time Story
Wednesday February 10, 2016 @05:38PM FAA Eases Drone Restrictions Around Washington, DC
Wednesday February 10, 2016 @10:45AM NHTSA Gives Green Light To Self-Driving Cars
Tuesday February 09, 2016 @10:45PM French Gov't Gives Facebook 3 Months To Stop Tracking Non-User Browsers
Monday February 08, 2016 @09:08AM India Blocks Facebook's Free Basics Internet Service
Saturday February 06, 2016 @02:58PM Ask Slashdot: Time To Get Into Crypto-currency? If So, Which?
Thursday February 04, 2016 @02:41PM All 12 Member Countries Sign Off On the TPP
Thursday February 04, 2016 @01:50AM Senators Blast Comcast, Other Cable Firms For "Unfair Billing Practices"
Wednesday February 03, 2016 @03:00PM Ethics Panel Endorses Mitochondrial Therapy, But Says Start With Male Embryos
Tuesday February 02, 2016 @05:04PM EU Proposes End of Anonymity For Bitcoin and Prepaid Card Users
Monday February 01, 2016 @01:16PM U.K. Researcher Receives Permission To Edit Genes In Human Embryos
Friday January 29, 2016 @06:48PM Cable Lobby Steams Up Over FCC Set-Top Box Competition Plan
Friday January 29, 2016 @03:12PM T-Mobile's Binge On Violates Net Neutrality, Says Stanford Report
Tuesday January 26, 2016 @08:25AM German Court: "Sharing" Your Amazon Purchases Is Spamming
Tuesday January 26, 2016 @08:22AM US Regulators Find Serious Deficiencies At Theranos Lab
Tuesday January 26, 2016 @08:20AM Uber's Short-lived Helicopter Service In Utah Grounded
Sunday January 24, 2016 @08:52AM Privacy Ombudsman Could Handle EU Complaints About US Surveillance
Saturday January 23, 2016 @11:27PM DOJ and 4 States Want $24 Billion In Fines From Dish Network For Telemarketing
Saturday January 23, 2016 @02:31PM Gambling State Says the Solar Gamble Is Over
Tuesday January 19, 2016 @11:01AM India Telecom Regulator Pooh-Poohs Facebook's Orchestrated Lobbying Campaign
Tuesday January 12, 2016 @11:15PM ATF Puts Up Surveillance Cameras Around Seattle ... To Catch Illegal Grease Dump
Tuesday January 12, 2016 @08:35AM French Conservatives Push Law To Ban Strong Encryption
Sunday January 10, 2016 @09:22AM FTC Fines Software Vendor Over False Data Encryption Claims
Thursday January 07, 2016 @03:58PM Open-Source Firmware For Your Toy Drone
Thursday January 07, 2016 @02:05PM German Carpenter's Testicluar Valve Could Mean An On/Off Switch For Sperm
Thursday January 07, 2016 @08:48AM Drone Registration Is FAA's Way of Getting You To Read Their "EULA"
Thursday January 07, 2016 @08:37AM Brazil's Biggest City Wants To Charge Fees For Uber Rides
Thursday January 07, 2016 @08:36AM CFR China Expert: US Tech Firms Should Worry About Beijing's New Anti-Terror Law
Thursday January 07, 2016 @08:28AM Zuckerberg Defends 'Free Basics' App With Comparison To Hospitals, Education
Tuesday December 29, 2015 @11:16AM Drone Ban Extends 30 Miles Around DC, Per FAA
Tuesday December 29, 2015 @08:49AM Reluctance To Go Mobile Inhibiting Innovation In Financial Services
Thursday December 24, 2015 @08:29AM Wyndham Settlement: No Fine, But More Power To the FTC
Tuesday December 22, 2015 @12:09PM Oracle Settles FTC Charges Regarding Deceptive Java Security Updates
Monday December 21, 2015 @01:43PM FAA Admits Names & Addresses In Drone Registry Will Be Publicly Available
Monday December 21, 2015 @01:22PM FAA Drone Rules May Already Be Outlawed By Congress
Thursday December 17, 2015 @05:51PM New WTO Trade Deal Will Exempt IT-Related Products From Import Tariffs
Thursday December 17, 2015 @02:32PM CA DMV Releases Draft Requirements For Autonomous Vehicles On Public Streets
Thursday December 17, 2015 @10:22AM EU Rules Would Ban Kids Under 16 From Social Media
Tuesday December 15, 2015 @11:22AM Seattle Passes First Uber Drivers' Union Into Law
Tuesday December 15, 2015 @08:40AM FAA: Small Drones Must Be Registered By February
Sunday December 13, 2015 @06:22PM Why Governments Lie About Encryption Backdoors
Saturday December 12, 2015 @02:31PM Paris Climate Deal Adopted
Friday December 11, 2015 @06:11PM Dow Chemical and DuPont Plan Huge Merger Followed By a Split
Thursday December 10, 2015 @01:52PM NHTSA Toughens Crash Test Rating Standards
Thursday December 10, 2015 @10:03AM Japan Defends Scientific Value of New Plan To Kill 333 Minke Whales
Tuesday December 08, 2015 @11:38AM First Ever EU Rules On Cybersecurity
Thursday December 03, 2015 @11:06AM 15,000 Hoverboards Seized As Unsafe In United Kingdom
Thursday December 03, 2015 @08:01AM Giant Telescope Project Stalled By Hawaiian Natives
Sunday November 29, 2015 @06:36PM Contractors or Not, Seattle Uber Drivers Might Get Collective Bargaining
Thursday November 26, 2015 @10:54AM Tesla's NOx Problem: Model X Delay Explained?
Thursday November 26, 2015 @10:33AM Pressure From Uber Forces London Taxis To Finally Accept Cards
Thursday November 26, 2015 @08:06AM Google Scours 1.2 Million URLs To Conform With EU's "Right To Be Forgotten" Law
Tuesday November 24, 2015 @09:49AM FDA Signs Off On Genetically Modified Salmon Without Labeling
Tuesday November 24, 2015 @07:57AM Disney IT Workers Prepare To Sue Over Foreign Replacements
Friday November 20, 2015 @11:54PM FTC Amends Telemarketing Rule To Ban Payment Methods Used By Scammers
Thursday November 19, 2015 @08:32AM Manhattan DA Pressures Google and Apple To Kill Zero Knowledge Encryption
Sunday November 15, 2015 @03:08PM Why Free Services From Telecoms Can Be a Problem On the Internet
Sunday November 15, 2015 @12:25PM FCC Clarifies: It's Legal To Hack Your Router
Friday November 13, 2015 @06:06PM UK May Blacklist Homeopathy
Friday November 13, 2015 @06:05PM Laser Strikes On Aircraft Increasing In Frequency
Tuesday November 10, 2015 @09:18AM In Ireland, All RC and Drones Over 1kg To Be Registered
Tuesday November 10, 2015 @08:21AM The Neuroscientist Who Tested a Brain Implant On Himself
Saturday November 07, 2015 @01:35AM Controversial Company Offers a New Way To Make a Baby
Friday November 06, 2015 @06:47PM New vs. Old: a Comparison of 23andMe's Health Reports and the Raw Data
Tuesday November 03, 2015 @08:12AM FCC Fines Another Large Firm For Blocking WiFi
Tuesday November 03, 2015 @07:56AM EPA Finds More VW Cheating Software, Including In a Porsche
Monday November 02, 2015 @12:58AM US Law Can't Keep Up With Technology -- and Why That's a Good Thing
Saturday October 31, 2015 @07:38PM Amazon Follows Through: Drops Apple TV, Chromecast
Thursday October 29, 2015 @08:03AM $600k Fine Over Data Center Death
Monday October 26, 2015 @11:52AM NY To Probe Broadband Providers Over Internet Speeds
Monday October 26, 2015 @07:38AM Drug Firm Offers $1 Version of $750 Daraprim Pill
Thursday October 22, 2015 @08:39AM Not Just Paris: Community Activists Target Data Centers
Thursday October 22, 2015 @08:05AM Noise Protests Close Paris Data Center
Thursday October 22, 2015 @07:09AM Nurses Use Makerspace To Invent Custom Health Care Solutions
Tuesday October 20, 2015 @09:18AM Why Aren't There Better Cybersecurity Regulations For Medical Devices?
Sunday October 18, 2015 @08:29PM Sprint Will Start Throttling Customers Who Exceed 23GB Monthly
Sunday October 18, 2015 @08:22PM Getting Over Getting Over Uber: Tim O'Reilly Does the Math
Saturday October 17, 2015 @11:45AM NBC News Reports US Will Require Registration For Consumer Drones
Friday October 16, 2015 @06:19PM House of Representatives Proposal Aims To Regulate Car Privacy
Thursday October 15, 2015 @11:20AM Why Cybersecurity Experts Want Open Source Routers
Thursday October 08, 2015 @01:21PM Scandal Erupts In Unregulated Online World of Fantasy Sports
Tuesday October 06, 2015 @07:17AM EU Court of Justice Declares US-EU Data Transfer Pact Invalid
Sunday October 04, 2015 @03:54AM 'Legacy' London Car Hire Companies Lawyer Up Against Uber
Saturday October 03, 2015 @05:27PM The Decline of 'Big Soda': Is Drinking Soda the New Smoking?
Friday October 02, 2015 @06:17PM Volkswagen Diesel Scandal Logistics Imply Sizable Conspiracy
Thursday October 01, 2015 @12:02PM UK Gamers Can Now Get Their Money Back For Publishers' Broken Promises
Thursday October 01, 2015 @10:30AM Xiaomi Investigated For Using Superlatives In Advertising, Now Illegal In China
Thursday October 01, 2015 @08:57AM Legal Loophole Offers Volkswagen Criminal Immunity
Tuesday September 29, 2015 @10:07AM Rogue Biohacking Is Not a Problem
Saturday September 26, 2015 @04:26PM EPA To Overhaul Emissions Testing In the Wake of VW Cheating
Friday September 25, 2015 @05:51PM Car Industry "Buried Report Showing US Car Safety Flaws Over Fears For TTIP Deal"
Friday September 25, 2015 @05:26PM How the Car Industry Has Hidden Its Software Behind the DMCA
Wednesday September 23, 2015 @12:03PM VW Fiasco Puts Ethics In Engineering Under the Spotlight, CEO Steps Down
Tuesday September 22, 2015 @08:27AM Legislation Requiring Tech Industry To Report Terrorist Activity Dropped
Monday September 21, 2015 @06:33AM UK Man Gets Britain's First-Ever Conviction For Illegal Drone Use
Sunday September 20, 2015 @04:36PM Volkswagen Could Face $18 Billion Fine Over Emission-Cheating Software
Saturday September 19, 2015 @08:31AM UK Researcher Applies For Permission To Edit Embryo Genomes
Friday September 11, 2015 @10:49AM California Overturns Uber's Appeal: Its Drivers Are Employees, Not Contractors
Thursday September 10, 2015 @09:05AM New FCC Rules Could Ban WiFi Router Firmware Modification
Thursday September 10, 2015 @08:38AM Congressional Testimony: A Surprising Consensus On Climate
Saturday August 29, 2015 @01:26PM Germany Wants Facebook To Obey Its Rules About Holocaust Denial
Thursday August 27, 2015 @07:43AM "Sensationalized Cruelty": FCC Complaints Regarding Game of Thrones
Thursday August 27, 2015 @07:11AM Countries Gaming Carbon Offsets May Have Dramatically Increased Emissions
Tuesday August 25, 2015 @08:21AM Court: FTC Can Punish Companies With Sloppy Cybersecurity
Sunday August 23, 2015 @10:38PM Judge Orders State Dept, FBI To Expand Clinton Email Server Probe
Thursday August 20, 2015 @02:46PM Now Google Must Censor Search Results About "Right To Be Forgotten" Removals
Thursday August 20, 2015 @08:06AM New Rules Say UK Video Bloggers Must Be Clearer About Paid Endorsements
Friday August 14, 2015 @07:35PM New Rules From the FCC Open Up New Access To Wi-Fi
Thursday August 13, 2015 @04:49PM Robotic Lawn Mower Gets Regulatory Approval
Thursday August 13, 2015 @11:57AM The UK's War On Porn: Turning ISPs Into Parents
Tuesday August 11, 2015 @10:34AM Uber Drivers Arrested By Undercover Cops In Hong Kong
Sunday August 09, 2015 @12:41PM Finnish Police: If You See Uber Car, Call 911
Tuesday August 04, 2015 @08:06AM India Blocks Over 800 Adult Websites
Saturday August 01, 2015 @09:33AM ISPs Claim Title II Regulations Don't Apply To the Internet Because "Computers"
Saturday July 25, 2015 @09:34PM EU May Become a Single Digital Market of 500 Million People
Friday July 24, 2015 @09:08PM Uber Faces $410 Million Canadian Class Action Suit
Wednesday July 22, 2015 @08:42AM FTC Accuses LifeLock of False Advertising Again
Monday July 20, 2015 @09:24PM Bitcoin Exempt From VAT Says European Court of Justice
Monday July 20, 2015 @09:03PM UK Pilots Want Lithium Battery Powered Devices In the Cabin
Tuesday July 14, 2015 @10:45AM Hillary Clinton Takes Aim At 'Gig Economy'
Tuesday July 14, 2015 @10:02AM Cell Phone Radiation Emission Tests Assume Use of Belt Clip
Sunday July 12, 2015 @08:36AM FTC Officials Looking Into Apple's Streaming Business Model, Say Sources
Friday July 10, 2015 @03:10PM The Uber Economy Needs a New Category of Worker
Thursday July 09, 2015 @07:55AM China's Stock Crash: $3.5 Trillion Wiped Out, $2.6 Trillion Frozen
Friday July 03, 2015 @09:40PM Wired Cautions Would-Be Drone Photogs on the 4th
Monday June 29, 2015 @06:36AM How Uber Takes Over a City
Saturday June 27, 2015 @11:06AM 79% of Airbnb Listings In Barcelona Are Illegal
Friday June 26, 2015 @07:47AM ICANN Seeks Comment On Limiting Anonymized Domain Registration
Tuesday June 23, 2015 @07:53AM Australia Passes Site-Blocking Legislation
Sunday June 21, 2015 @06:12PM Is the End of Government Acceptance of Homeopathy In Sight?
Sunday June 21, 2015 @07:28AM In 6 Months, Australia Bans More Than 240 Games
Sunday June 14, 2015 @06:32PM ISP Breaking Net Neutrality? The FCC's Got a Complaint Form For That
Friday May 29, 2015 @05:12PM Mandriva CEO: Employee Lawsuits Put Us Out of Business
Tuesday May 26, 2015 @08:34AM Charter Strikes $56B Deal For Time Warner Cable
Friday May 22, 2015 @06:55PM California Votes To Ban Microbeads
Thursday May 21, 2015 @09:11AM US Proposes Tighter Export Rules For Computer Security Tools
Tuesday May 19, 2015 @10:56AM FTC Recommends Conditions For Sale of RadioShack Customer Data
Tuesday May 19, 2015 @08:33AM Battle To Regulate Ridesharing Moves Through States
Saturday May 16, 2015 @06:43AM House Science Committee Approves Changes To Space Law
Tuesday May 12, 2015 @07:24AM Philippines Gives Uber Its First Legal Framework To Operate In Asia
Monday May 11, 2015 @03:01AM Australia: Your Digital Games (and Movies!) Could Be About to Jump In Price
Sunday May 10, 2015 @11:04PM FCC Tosses Petition Challenging Its New Internet Regulations
Saturday May 09, 2015 @06:30PM Texas Regulators Crack Down on App-Driven Hauling Service
Thursday May 07, 2015 @01:33PM FAA Program Tests Drones Flying Beyond Pilot's Line-of-Sight
Thursday May 07, 2015 @07:34AM Voting With Dollars: Politicians and Their Staffers Roll With Uber
Wednesday May 06, 2015 @10:38AM Uber Forced Out of Kansas
Monday May 04, 2015 @06:43AM Uber Office Raided By Police In China, Accused of Running 'Illegal' Car Business
Thursday April 30, 2015 @09:02AM A Light-Powered Retina Implant For the Blind
Thursday April 30, 2015 @07:06AM Rand Paul Moves To Block New "Net Neutrality" Rules
Tuesday April 28, 2015 @08:33AM Feds Say It's Time To Cut Back On Fluoride In Drinking Water
Friday April 24, 2015 @09:50AM Comcast Officially Gives Up On TWC Merger
Thursday April 23, 2015 @02:57PM Bloomberg Report Suggests Comcast & Time Warner Merger Dead
Thursday April 23, 2015 @07:30AM Japan Looks To Distributed Control Theory To Manage Energy Market Deregulation
Saturday April 18, 2015 @05:43PM DOJ Could Nix Comcast-Time Warner Merger
Saturday April 18, 2015 @01:20PM Dutch Prosecutors Launch Criminal Investigation Against Uber For Flouting Ban
Tuesday April 14, 2015 @11:53AM In New Zealand, a Legal Battle Looms Over Streaming TV
Thursday April 09, 2015 @01:17PM FTC Creates Office Dedicated To "Algorithmic Transparency"
Thursday April 09, 2015 @12:12PM Reason: How To Break the Internet (in a Bad Way)
Tuesday April 07, 2015 @07:38AM Consumer Groups Bemoan Google's "Deceptive" Ads for Kids In FTC Complaint
Thursday April 02, 2015 @09:13AM EU's Unitary Software Patent Challenged At the Belgian Constitutional Court
Thursday April 02, 2015 @07:49AM UK Forces Microsoft To Adopt Open Document Standards
Tuesday March 31, 2015 @09:48AM EU Commission Divided Over Nation-Specific Content Blocking
Monday March 30, 2015 @04:09PM Apple's Tim Cook Calls Out "Religious Freedom" Laws As Discriminatory
Friday March 27, 2015 @06:04PM Modern Cockpits: Harder To Invade But Easier To Lock Up
Thursday March 26, 2015 @04:54PM Australia Passes Mandatory Data Retention Law
Thursday March 26, 2015 @12:45PM German Auto Firms Face Roadblock In Testing Driverless Car Software
Tuesday March 24, 2015 @09:41AM First Lawsuits Challenging FCC's New Net Neutrality Rules Arrive
Sunday March 22, 2015 @10:19AM Taxi Apps Accused of Facilitating Sexual Harassment In Brazil
Sunday March 22, 2015 @02:15AM In Response to Pollution Spike, Paris Temporarily Halves Traffic By Decree
Friday March 20, 2015 @07:13PM ISPs Worry About FCC's 'Future Conduct' Policing
Friday March 20, 2015 @05:52PM France Decrees New Rooftops Must Be Covered In Plants Or Solar Panels
Friday March 20, 2015 @05:50PM Taxi Companies Sue Uber For False Advertising On Safety
Wednesday March 18, 2015 @09:41PM Uber Shut Down In Multiple Countries Following Raids
Wednesday March 18, 2015 @06:22PM Feds Fine Verizon $3.4 Million Over 911 Service Outage Issues
Friday March 13, 2015 @07:17PM FAA Says Ad-Bearing YouTube Drone Videos Constitute "Commercial Use"
Thursday March 12, 2015 @09:04PM FCC Posts Its 400-Page Net Neutrality Order
Thursday March 12, 2015 @04:55PM Powdered Alcohol Approved By Feds, Banned By States
Wednesday March 11, 2015 @09:52AM South African Government Issues Plans To Censor Internet
Friday March 06, 2015 @07:19PM Is Cyber Arms Control a Lost Cause?
Thursday March 05, 2015 @04:37PM EU Free Data Roaming, Net Neutrality Plans In Jeopardy
Thursday March 05, 2015 @02:27PM CRTC Issues $1.1 Million Penalty To Compu-Finder For Spamming Canadians
Tuesday March 03, 2015 @01:02PM Deutsche Telecom Calls For Google and Facebook To Be Regulated Like Telcos
Saturday February 28, 2015 @01:04AM Uber Offers Free Rides To Koreans, Hopes They Won't Report Illegal Drivers
Saturday February 21, 2015 @08:39PM How One Climate-Change Skeptic Has Profited From Corporate Interests
Saturday February 21, 2015 @02:16PM Antitrust Case Against Google Thrown Out of SF Court
Saturday February 21, 2015 @09:35AM California Floats Conditional Approval For Comcast/TWC Merger
Saturday February 21, 2015 @09:28AM Wired On 3-D Printers As Fraud Enablers
Friday February 20, 2015 @06:37PM Unearthing Fraud In Medical Trials
Thursday February 19, 2015 @11:42AM Oregon Residents Riled Over Virtually Staff-free Data Centers Getting Tax-breaks
Tuesday February 17, 2015 @08:15AM How Big Telecom Tried To Kill Net Neutrality Before It Was Even a Concept
Thursday February 12, 2015 @12:51PM Starting This Week, Wireless Carriers Must Unlock Your Phone
Friday February 06, 2015 @06:58PM Verizon Sells Off Wireline Operations, Blames Net Neutrality Plans
Tuesday February 03, 2015 @04:25PM Major Retailers Accused of Selling Fraudulent Herbal Supplements
Tuesday February 03, 2015 @04:08PM Hundreds Apply For FAA Drone Licenses
Tuesday February 03, 2015 @09:33AM FAA Could Extend Property Rights On the Moon Through Regulation
Saturday January 31, 2015 @12:09AM Indian Woman Sues Uber In the US Over Alleged New Delhi Taxi Rape
Friday January 30, 2015 @07:47AM FCC Officially Approves Change In the Definition of Broadband
Tuesday January 27, 2015 @10:29AM FCC Fines Verizon For Failing To Investigate Rural Phone Problems
Tuesday January 27, 2015 @09:21AM Uber Capping Prices During Snowmageddon 2015
Sunday January 25, 2015 @06:40PM Verizon, Cable Lobby Oppose Spec-Bump For Broadband Definition
Sunday January 25, 2015 @09:56AM Calif. DMV Back-Pedals On Commercial-Plate Mandate For Ride-Share Drivers