Forgot your password?

Slashdot Items Tagged "opensource"

Date / TimeStory
Tuesday August 04, 2015 @10:08AM Ada Initiative Organization To End, But Its Work Will Continue
Sunday August 02, 2015 @02:31PM DoD Ditches Open Source Medical Records System In $4.3B Contract
Friday July 31, 2015 @03:05AM Samsung Finds, Fixes Bug In Linux Trim Code
Thursday July 30, 2015 @09:58AM On Linux, $550 Radeon R9 Fury Competes With $200~350 NVIDIA GPUs
Wednesday July 29, 2015 @12:06PM Interviews: Ask Richard Stallman a Question
Tuesday July 28, 2015 @12:27PM Why Your Software Project Is Failing
Monday July 27, 2015 @09:39PM Project IceStorm Passes Another Milestone: Building a CPU
Saturday July 25, 2015 @12:49PM Battle For Wesnoth Seeks New Developers
Saturday July 25, 2015 @09:26AM KDE Community Announces Fully Open Source Plasma Mobile
Saturday July 25, 2015 @08:59AM AMD Forces a LibreOffice Speed Boost With GPU Acceleration
Thursday July 23, 2015 @02:32PM Meet OpenDaylight Project Executive Director Neela Jacques (Video)
Thursday July 23, 2015 @11:46AM Open-Source Mesa 3D Library/Drivers Now Support OpenGL 4
Tuesday July 21, 2015 @05:59PM Pro GPL
Tuesday July 21, 2015 @04:47PM LibreOffice Ported To Run On Wayland
Monday July 20, 2015 @07:14PM How Developers Can Rebuild Trust On the Internet
Friday July 17, 2015 @06:38PM Renderman Gets Blender Integration
Wednesday July 15, 2015 @10:57PM The Free Software Foundation's Statement On Canonical's Updated Licensing Terms
Wednesday July 15, 2015 @08:17PM NSA Releases Open Source Security Tool For Linux
Wednesday July 15, 2015 @01:07PM The Free Software Foundation's statement on Canonical's updated licensing terms
Sunday July 12, 2015 @01:20PM Speed-Ups, Small Fixes Earn Good Marks From Ars For Mint 17.2
Saturday July 11, 2015 @08:41PM Calculating the Truck-Factor of Popular Open Source Projects
Saturday July 11, 2015 @01:39PM Linux Foundation's Census Project Ranks Open Source Software At Risk
Saturday July 11, 2015 @09:16AM Lenovo will sell Ubuntu laptops in India
Saturday July 11, 2015 @09:15AM Linux Foundation's Census Project Ranks Software At Risk
Friday July 10, 2015 @02:37PM MetaMorph Helps non-Engineers Design Circuits (Video)
Friday July 10, 2015 @01:21AM French Government IT Directorate Supports ODF, Rejects OOXML
Thursday July 09, 2015 @11:02AM OpenSSL Patches Critical Certificate Forgery Bug
Thursday July 09, 2015 @08:40AM Open Compute Project Comes Under Fire
Thursday July 09, 2015 @07:37AM Jolla Spins Off Hardware Business
Thursday July 09, 2015 @07:32AM BBC Reveals Its New Microcomputer Design
Monday July 06, 2015 @03:50PM What Goes Into a Decision To Take Software From Proprietary To Open Source
Friday July 03, 2015 @05:48PM Clang Plays Tetris -- Tetris As a C++ Template Metaprogram
Friday July 03, 2015 @01:26PM Firefox 39 Released, Bringing Security Improvements and Social Sharing
Thursday July 02, 2015 @03:58PM Microsoft Research Open Sources WorldWide Telescope
Tuesday June 30, 2015 @10:00AM First Fedora Image For the MIPS Available For Testing
Monday June 29, 2015 @05:23PM Ask Slashdot: Choosing the Right Open Source License
Wednesday June 24, 2015 @05:59PM NVIDIA Begins Supplying Open-Source Register Header Files
Wednesday June 24, 2015 @03:18PM The Open Container Project and What It Means
Monday June 22, 2015 @11:21PM Linux To Receive More Assembly Code Rework
Monday June 22, 2015 @11:12PM Linux 4.1 Kernel Released With EXT4 Encryption, Performance Improvements
Monday June 22, 2015 @07:34PM Docker and CoreOS Join Together For Open Container Project At Linux Foundation
Monday June 22, 2015 @08:45AM Linux 4.1 Kernel Released With EXT4 Encryption, Performance Improvements
Monday June 22, 2015 @08:25AM Linux containers set for surge, but security concerns remain
Thursday June 18, 2015 @12:23PM LibreOffice Now Available On Apple's Mac App Store
Wednesday June 17, 2015 @03:54PM Is Surespot the Latest Crypto War Victim?
Wednesday June 17, 2015 @03:53PM Reasons To Use Mono For Linux Development
Tuesday June 16, 2015 @12:30PM Linus Torvalds Says Linux Can Move On Without Him
Tuesday June 16, 2015 @11:59AM Report: Aging Java Components To Blame For Massively Buggy Open-Source Software
Thursday June 11, 2015 @12:59PM PHP At 20: From Pet Project To Powerhouse
Tuesday June 09, 2015 @03:10PM David Revoy Makes Open Source Art With Open Source Tools (Video)
Friday June 05, 2015 @07:42AM Open Source Haxe/OpenFL Platform Will Support Home Game Consoles
Tuesday June 02, 2015 @11:30AM LG Arbitrarily Denying Android Lollipop Update To the G2 In Canada?
Tuesday June 02, 2015 @08:39AM Cinnamon 2.6: a Massive Update Loaded With Performance Improvements
Sunday May 31, 2015 @09:11AM MinGW and MSVCRT Conflict Causes Floating-Point Value Corruption
Tuesday May 26, 2015 @01:43PM Building Hospitable Open Source Communities (Video)
Saturday May 23, 2015 @10:44AM Ask Slashdot: Can SaaS Be Both Open Source and Economically Viable?
Friday May 22, 2015 @11:05PM Chrome For Android Is Now Almost Entirely Open Source
Thursday May 21, 2015 @10:55AM Pre-Orders Start For Neo900 Open Source Phone
Wednesday May 20, 2015 @06:58PM Huawei's LiteOS Internet of Things Operating System Is a Minuscule 10KB
Wednesday May 20, 2015 @02:11PM Adblock Plus Launches Adblock Browser: a Fork of Firefox For Android
Tuesday May 19, 2015 @11:40AM First Smart TVs Powered By Firefox OS On Sale In Europe, Worldwide Soon
Tuesday May 19, 2015 @08:04AM KDE Plasma 5 Becomes the Default Desktop of OpenSUSE Tumbleweed
Saturday May 16, 2015 @01:10AM Linino-Enabled Arduino Yun Shrinks In Size and Cost
Friday May 15, 2015 @03:56PM MenuetOS, an Operating System Written Entirely In Assembly, Hits 1.0
Thursday May 14, 2015 @12:55PM Ask Slashdot: What Is the Best Open Document Format?
Thursday May 14, 2015 @10:47AM RTFM? How To Write a Manual Worth Reading
Thursday May 14, 2015 @09:14AM Criticizing the Rust Language, and Why C/C++ Will Never Die
Thursday May 14, 2015 @08:49AM Wireless Charging Tech Adopted By Ford, Chrysler, and Toyota Goes Open Source
Tuesday May 12, 2015 @01:05PM Firefox 38 Arrives With DRM Required To Watch Netflix
Tuesday May 12, 2015 @11:12AM Open Source C++ ClanLib SDK Refreshed For 2015
Monday May 11, 2015 @04:46PM Linux Mint Will Continue To Provide Both Systemd and Upstart
Thursday May 07, 2015 @05:31PM Creating the Open Drone Ecosystem Takes Room To Experiment
Thursday May 07, 2015 @08:22AM Why Was Linux the Kernel That Succeeded?
Wednesday May 06, 2015 @06:53PM Netflix Open-Sources Security Incident Management Tool
Thursday April 30, 2015 @10:07PM How an Open Standard API Could Revolutionize Banking
Thursday April 30, 2015 @06:44PM Once a Forgotten Child, OpenSSL's Future Now Looks Bright
Tuesday April 28, 2015 @12:32PM KDE Plasma 5.3 Released
Tuesday April 28, 2015 @08:46AM An Open Ranking of Wikipedia Pages
Monday April 27, 2015 @04:10PM Imagination To Release Open MIPS Design To Academia
Monday April 27, 2015 @12:28PM Linux 4.1 Bringing Many Changes, But No KDBUS
Sunday April 26, 2015 @02:22PM Debian 8 Jessie Released
Thursday April 23, 2015 @11:34AM Qt Creator 3.4.0 Released
Wednesday April 22, 2015 @06:20PM GCC 5.1 Released
Tuesday April 21, 2015 @12:24PM OSGeo Foundation Up In Arms Over ESRI LAS Lock-In Plans
Sunday April 19, 2015 @10:04PM How Publishing Upstart Mendeley Weathered Revolt and Became Part of the Paywall
Saturday April 18, 2015 @04:32PM Ask Slashdot: What Features Would You Like In a Search Engine?
Friday April 17, 2015 @01:15PM Microsoft Open Technologies Is Closing: Good Or Bad News For Open Source?
Thursday April 16, 2015 @02:07PM KDE Plasma 5.3 Beta Brings Lot of Improvements
Thursday April 16, 2015 @10:51AM KDE Plasma 5.3 Beta Brings Lot of Improvements
Tuesday April 14, 2015 @12:38PM What's next for open source? Physical products.
Friday April 10, 2015 @06:11PM Google Rolls Out VP9 Encoding For YouTube
Tuesday April 07, 2015 @02:50PM Getting Started Developing With OpenStreetMap Data
Monday April 06, 2015 @01:13PM The New Struggles Facing Open Source
Monday April 06, 2015 @11:59AM 10 Years of Git: An Interview With Linus Torvalds
Sunday April 05, 2015 @10:10PM US NAVY Sonar/Lidar Editing Software Released To the World
Sunday April 05, 2015 @01:22AM BioWare Announces Open-Source Orbit Project
Sunday April 05, 2015 @12:05AM Mono 4 Released, First Version To Adopt Microsoft Code
Saturday April 04, 2015 @07:31PM Forking Away: OnePlus Introduces Android-Based OxygenOS
Saturday April 04, 2015 @04:48PM Building an NES Emulator
Saturday April 04, 2015 @03:26PM Valve Bootstrapped Source 2 Engine On an Open-Source Vulkan Driver
Tuesday March 31, 2015 @10:26AM License Details Hint MS Undecided On Suing Users of Its Open Source Net Runtime
Monday March 30, 2015 @08:10AM India Mandates Use of Open Source Software In Government
Monday March 30, 2015 @07:51AM India Mandates Use of Open Source Software in Government
Friday March 27, 2015 @06:54PM European Commision Will Increase Use of Open Source Software
Thursday March 26, 2015 @03:36PM MIT Debuts Integer Overflow Debugger
Thursday March 26, 2015 @09:34AM GNOME 3.16 Released
Monday March 23, 2015 @11:02AM RMS Talks Net Neutrality, Patents, and More
Sunday March 22, 2015 @11:11AM DuckDuckGo Donates $100,000 Among Four FOSS Projects
Friday March 20, 2015 @07:22PM How Device Drivers Are Reverse Engineered
Thursday March 19, 2015 @03:30PM Why I Choose PostgreSQL Over MySQL/MariaDB
Wednesday March 18, 2015 @11:30AM The GNU Manifesto Turns Thirty
Wednesday March 18, 2015 @08:32AM Ask Slashdot: Choosing a Laptop To Support Physics Research?
Tuesday March 17, 2015 @07:49PM The GNU Manifesto Turns Thirty
Tuesday March 17, 2015 @01:02PM Global Learning XPRIZE Senior Director Matt Keller Answers Your Questions
Monday March 16, 2015 @11:40AM Kolab Summit 2015 Announced
Monday March 16, 2015 @07:07AM Kolab Summit 2015 Announced
Thursday March 12, 2015 @04:55PM Google Code Disables New Project Creation, Will Shut Down On January 25, 2016
Thursday March 12, 2015 @08:39AM The Role of a Nonprofit In Open Source Development
Thursday March 12, 2015 @05:58AM The Role of a Nonprofit in Open Source Development
Wednesday March 11, 2015 @12:48PM Why We Need Free Digital Hardware Designs
Wednesday March 11, 2015 @09:17AM Why We Need Free Digital Hardware Designs
Tuesday March 10, 2015 @06:33PM Is open-source hardware gaining critical mass?
Sunday March 08, 2015 @05:06PM In the Age of Free AAA Game Engines, Where Does Our Open Source Engine Stand?
Sunday March 08, 2015 @01:37PM Tor Project Aims To Eclipse US Government Funding
Sunday March 08, 2015 @09:31AM Mesa 10.5 Updates Open-Source Graphics Drivers
Saturday March 07, 2015 @02:11PM KDE Accepted To Google Summer of Code 2015
Saturday March 07, 2015 @10:29AM Mesa 10.5 Updates Open-Source Graphics Drivers
Saturday March 07, 2015 @06:05AM KDE accepted to Google Summer of Code 2015
Thursday March 05, 2015 @03:12PM Software Freedom Conservancy Funds GPL Suit Against VMWare
Thursday March 05, 2015 @02:45PM Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7.1 and Atomic Host Hit General Availability
Thursday March 05, 2015 @01:01PM Conservancy Announces Funding for GPL Compliance Lawsuit
Tuesday March 03, 2015 @09:52AM NVIDIA Fixes Old Compiz Bug
Monday March 02, 2015 @11:26PM Developers Disclose Schematics For 50-1000 MHz Software-Defined Transceiver
Monday March 02, 2015 @11:25PM Ask Slashdot: Which Classic OOP Compiled Language: Objective-C Or C++?
Monday March 02, 2015 @10:18PM Xfce 4.12 Released
Saturday February 28, 2015 @04:10AM VLC Gets First Major Cross-Platform Release
Wednesday February 25, 2015 @12:37PM Interviews: Ask Senior Director Matt Keller About the Global Learning XPRIZE
Monday February 23, 2015 @02:17AM Linux Kernel Switching To Linux v4.0, Coming With Many New Addons
Saturday February 21, 2015 @09:50PM Ask Slashdot: Parental Content Control For Free OSs?
Wednesday February 18, 2015 @07:16PM After 30 Years of the Free Software Foundation, Where Do We Stand?
Wednesday February 18, 2015 @02:57PM After 30 years of the Free Software Foundation, where do we stand?
Tuesday February 17, 2015 @09:51AM OpenStreetMap.org Gets Routing
Sunday February 15, 2015 @03:59PM Removing Libsystemd0 From a Live-running Debian System
Thursday February 12, 2015 @02:53PM Live Patching Now Available For Linux
Wednesday February 11, 2015 @01:53PM Elementary OS: Why We Make You Type "$0"
Monday February 09, 2015 @03:45PM Rich Olson Embodies the Spirit of the Maker Movement (Video)
Sunday February 08, 2015 @06:07PM RMS Objects To Support For LLVM's Debugger In GNU Emacs's Gud.el
Sunday February 08, 2015 @01:11PM Xfce Getting a New Version Soon
Thursday February 05, 2015 @07:03PM GPG Programmer Werner Koch Is Running Out of Money
Thursday February 05, 2015 @06:56PM The one guy responsible for GPG is running out of money
Monday February 02, 2015 @02:54PM Perl 6 In Time For Next Christmas?
Saturday January 31, 2015 @07:51PM Lab samples database "JuliaBase" published as open source
Saturday January 31, 2015 @07:28PM Computer Chess Created In 487 Bytes, Breaks 32-Year-Old Record
Thursday January 29, 2015 @07:55PM VP Anthony Moschella Shows Off Makerbot's Latest Printers and Materials (Video)
Thursday January 29, 2015 @07:05PM LibreOffice Gets a Streamlined Makeover With 4.4 Release
Monday January 26, 2015 @01:47PM Prometheus: A Powerful Open-Source Monitoring System
Sunday January 25, 2015 @01:39PM Ask Slashdot: Is Pascal Underrated?
Sunday January 25, 2015 @10:40AM Ask Slashdot: GPU of Choice For OpenCL On Linux?
Sunday January 25, 2015 @10:22AM Brought To You By the Letter R: Microsoft Acquiring Revolution Analytics
Sunday January 25, 2015 @10:18AM Microsoft Are About To Buy Revolution Analytics
Saturday January 24, 2015 @05:52PM OpenSSL 1.0.2 Released
Saturday January 24, 2015 @11:28AM Linus Fixes Kernel Regression Breaking Witcher 2
Friday January 23, 2015 @07:26PM Google Just Made It Easier To Run Linux On Your Chromebook
Thursday January 22, 2015 @10:19AM User Plea Means EISA Support Not Removed From Linux
Tuesday January 20, 2015 @01:02PM Librem: a Laptop Custom-Made For Free/Libre Software
Sunday January 18, 2015 @10:51PM With Community Help, Chrome Could Support Side Tabs Extension
Sunday January 18, 2015 @01:54PM Why Run Linux On Macs?
Saturday January 17, 2015 @04:48PM Red Hat Engineer Improves Math Performance of Glibc
Friday January 16, 2015 @10:31PM Andy Wolber Explores Online Word Processors' ODF Support
Wednesday January 14, 2015 @05:03PM SystemD Gains New Networking Features
Wednesday January 14, 2015 @11:26AM Where Cellular Networks Don't Exist, People Are Building Their Own
Tuesday January 13, 2015 @11:25AM Ask Slashdot: Linux Database GUI Application Development?
Monday January 12, 2015 @02:31PM Legal developments show the importance of FOSS is growing
Sunday January 11, 2015 @07:24PM KDE Frameworks 5.3 and Plasma 2.1 – First Impressions
Sunday January 11, 2015 @01:56PM Crowdfunded Linux Voice Magazine Releases Second Issue CC-BY-SA
Sunday January 11, 2015 @10:07AM NetHack Development Team Polls Community For Advice On Unicode
Friday January 02, 2015 @01:01PM Unofficial WhatsApp Library Gets End To End Encryption Before Official Clients
Friday January 02, 2015 @12:02PM 2014: The Year We Learned How Vulnerable Third-Party Code Libraries Are
Wednesday December 31, 2014 @06:51PM India Blocks Code Sharing Websites On Anti-Terror Advisory
Tuesday December 30, 2014 @04:24PM Slashdot Asks: The Beanies Return; Who Deserves Recognition for 2014?
Monday December 29, 2014 @10:44PM Quake On an Oscilloscope
Saturday December 27, 2014 @06:34PM Phoronix Lauds AMD's Open Source Radeon Driver Progress For 2014
Saturday December 27, 2014 @12:20PM An Open Source Flat Pack Robot Arm That's As Easy To Build As Ikea Furniture
Thursday December 25, 2014 @11:18PM Linux 3.19 Kernel To Start 2015 With Many New Features
Wednesday December 24, 2014 @02:32PM Subsurface 4.3 Released
Tuesday December 23, 2014 @09:22AM NetworkManager 1.0 Released After Ten Years Development
Monday December 22, 2014 @06:41PM Using Your Open-Source Contributions To Land a Full-Time Job
Wednesday December 17, 2014 @03:29PM What Will Microsoft's "Embrace" of Open Source Actually Achieve?
Monday December 15, 2014 @12:48PM Microsoft To Open Source Cloud Framework Behind Halo 4 Services
Monday December 15, 2014 @12:11PM The GPLv2 Goes To Court
Sunday December 14, 2014 @04:33PM Ask Slashdot: Best Software For Image Organization?
Sunday December 14, 2014 @01:34AM OpenMotics Offers Open Source (and Open Hardware) Home Automation
Thursday December 11, 2014 @10:03AM Why Open Source Matters For Sensitive Email
Thursday December 11, 2014 @09:56AM Bellard Creates New Image Format To Replace JPEG
Thursday December 04, 2014 @02:05PM Using OwnCloud To Integrate Dropbox, Google Drive, and More In Gnome
Wednesday December 03, 2014 @01:52PM Samsung's Open Source Group Is Growing, Hiring Developers
Monday December 01, 2014 @10:42AM Open Source Craft Brewery Shares More Than Recipes
Sunday November 30, 2014 @08:40PM Open hardware and Software AMD64 Laptop
Sunday November 30, 2014 @07:42PM DOOM 3DO Source Released On Github
Friday November 28, 2014 @10:01PM Creative Commons To Pass One Billion Licensed Works In 2015

FORTUNE'S FUN FACTS TO KNOW AND TELL: #44 Zebras are colored with dark stripes on a light background.

 



Forgot your password?
Working...