Slashdot is powered by your submissions, so send in your scoop


Forgot your password?

Submission + - Old Facebook Apps Still Plunder Your Privacy (

tcd004 writes: If you added the Youtube Facebook app prior to 2009, you're given YouTube free access to nearly all the data in your profile (as well as many of your friends). But if you install the same app today, it gets very limited access. Older versions of Facebook apps, it turns out, still have "grandfathered" access to data that the social networking service has restricted for new apps. If you're protective of your privacy, it might be a good idea to delete and reinstall any older apps in your profile.
This discussion was created for logged-in users only, but now has been archived. No new comments can be posted.

Old Facebook Apps Still Plunder Your Privacy

Comments Filter:

"It's like deja vu all over again." -- Yogi Berra