Forgot your password?
typodupeerror

SiN Episodes - Emergence Review 198

Posted by Zonk
from the on-a-very-special-sin-episodes dept.
Along with pale imitations, it seems the destiny of genre-defining games to provoke a reversal in design decisions. The success of 3D platformers has lead to a renaissance in 2D gaming, World of Warcraft has pushed online game designers away from the fantasy genre, and Half-Life 2 has prompted a lot of story-light brainless shooters. It's this last genre that houses SiN Episodes: Emergence. A traditional run and gun First Person Shooter (FPS), SiN is a blood-soaked five hour jaunt you can download from Steam for about twenty bucks. At that price and that length, this Aeon Fluxian gorefest may just be a happy start for the age of episodic content. Read on for my impressions of a good-looking throwback that proves you don't need millions of dollars to make a fun title.

  • Title: SiN Episodes: Emergence
  • Developer: Ritual Entertainment
  • Publisher: Valve
  • System: PC

Calling SiN story-light might not be fair. It would be more accurate to say that this first episode of the 'season' isn't heavy on plot elements. Ritual plans on making these 5-8 hour gameplay releases a regular event. A 'season' will be a complete story made up of three episodes: a beginning, a middle, and an end. You're awakened at the start of this episode staring into the um, eyes of an attractive woman and a well-dressed guy. You're strapped onto a table, and have apparently been injected with something. Before you can really understand what's going on, another attractive woman comes to your aid, spiriting you away in her auto.

What follows is a textbook-standard FPS. You make your way through the grubby urban environments, a secret underground lair, and moist crawlspaces, shooting the faceless bad guys that get in your way. Weapons are fairly limited in this first episode; For most of the game you have a pistol, a shotgun, and grenades. Really, though, what else do you need? Enemy models and map creation are fairly generic, though they are competently executed. There's a couple of nice action set-pieces, such as a fight against jet-pack wearing baddies from inside a cargo crate being lifted over a body of water. The few explanatory plot moments are used with the in-game engine, as in cousin Half-Life.

If there is a differentiating element to SiN, it is the adaptive AI and stat-tracking that haunts you throughout the game. Every bullet you fire, which gun you use, whether it hits or not, all are tracked as you move through the title. The enemies will start off fairly dumb, but if you find yourself having an easy time of it you'll start to notice the enemies beginning to adopt new tactics. If you pwn the bad guys hard enough in the first few levels, you may even find yourself outclassed when the action gets fast and furious later in the episode. This intelligent adaptation to your gameplay is a little spooky once you start noticing it. The first time you find yourself in the middle of a well-executed pincer maneuver, with soldiers on all sides closing in, you'll know you've gotten the AI's attention.

Visually, SiN looks a lot like cousin Half-Life, which only makes sense; Emergence was created with Valve's Source engine. All the 'fun with physics' moments you can have in Half-Life 2 are here in SiN, with some extra surprises. Despite what the Mythbusters had to say on the subject, compressed air tanks make surprisingly good weapons here. The polish on the game's look is less pronounced than it was with Half-Life 2, the result of a smaller budget and shorter development time. The audio is run and gun standard, but the weapon sounds are surprisingly satisfying. They have a lot of heft, which partially makes up for the very few weapons you'll have access to in the game.

If Emergence was $15, this would be a sure thing; At $20 I'm not sure this particular ride is worth the price of admission. Just the same, if you've got the money lying around and are a fan of the FPS genre, you're probably going to enjoy SiN There's nothing particularly wrong here, just a general sense of 'been there, done that'. At only five or six hours play time, you probably won't even have time to get bored before the episode is over. Future episodes will elaborate on the plot, give us more enemies to fight, and more weapons to fight with. As such, the pricetag may be more justified for future episodes. For right now, though, here's hoping they drop the price to make this bite-sized FPS morsel taste just right.
This discussion has been archived. No new comments can be posted.

SiN Episodes - Emergence Review

Comments Filter:
  • by technoextreme (885694) on Tuesday May 30, 2006 @02:43PM (#15430132)
    Despite what the Mythbusters had to say on the subject, compressed air tanks make surprisingly good weapons here.

    Ummmm... They didn't say that compressed air tanks don't make good weapons. They said that they don't make good IEDs. They make great missles.
  • by taxman_10m (41083) on Tuesday May 30, 2006 @02:43PM (#15430139)
    The success of 3D platformers has lead to a renaissance in 2D gaming,

    I guess I don't follow games that closely anymore. What 3d platformers have I missed, and what games defined the 2d renaissance that followed?

    • I guess I don't follow games that closely anymore. What 3d platformers have I missed, and what games defined the 2d renaissance that followed?

      The 3D ones I can think of offhand are Super Mario 64 (and Sunshine) and Metroid Prime. Metroid Prime is more an adventure than a platformer, but it does have a ton of platformer-type puzzles.

      I don't know what games were involved in the 2D renaissance either.
      • That's all you can think of? What about all the Tombraider games? What about Spyro the Dragon? What about the PS2 game with that raccoon who steals stuff, Sly Cooper? There are tons and tons of 3D platformers out. Heck, there's a 3D platformer version of Pac-Man and Frogger out right now.

        As for the 2D renaissance, there was a rather critically acclaimed game called Viewtiful Joe out a couple years ago, although I didn't personally play it. Also one called Alien Hominid.
      • The new Super Mario Brothers for the Nintendo DS seems to define the "2d renaissance" quite well if you ask me.
        br> Same goes for SSB, Viewtiful Joe (as mentioned earlier), and others.
    • No, it's ok, I follow games pretty closely and I find that sentence to be pretty meaningless myself. 3D platformers have mostly been intended to replace 2D platformers. Which is why you can't get a decent 2D Castlevania game on a TV based console anymore (tons of crummy and awful 3D Castlevanias, though).

      Now, you could argue that there has been a 2D rennaissance, on portables. This is because portables have finally caught up to (or surpassed) the graphical abilities of the Atari Lynx. So, both the Nin

    • Don't worry, that sentence was awful. Both structurally and contextually. If someone is going to make statements like that they needs to provide some examples.

      But on a side note, did you know the success of Pong relates to the success of unicorns in modern games?
      Why? Just 'cause.
    • "proves you don't need millions of dollars to make a fun title."
      Is this quote actually valid, or is it speculation? I find it hard to believe that you can make a AAA title (of any length) without at least several hundred thousands. Anyway, is there anyone who knows what kind of resources were put into this?
    • The two big ones I can think of offhand are Rachet & Clank & Jax & Dakter (both for PS2).

      If you want to confine the choices to PC games, Rayman 3 may have been out for the PC, I forget... but 3D platformers have been very popular on consoles.
  • Really? (Score:3, Insightful)

    by Nos. (179609) <andrew@@@thekerrs...ca> on Tuesday May 30, 2006 @02:44PM (#15430144) Homepage

    Half-Life 2 has prompted a lot of story-light brainless shooters

    IMHO, HL2 wasn't about being a immersive story-telling game. It was about showing off the new engine until mods that made the first HL (Counter Strike, Day of Defeat, etc) so popular were released under source.

    That being said, I did enjoy HL2, but I didn't buy it for the story line. From what I've seen, most FPS shooters aren't built for the story line. They're built for action. And guess what, we got action with HL2 and the various mods.

    • Re:Really? (Score:5, Interesting)

      by spyrochaete (707033) <spyrochaete@NOspAm.hyppy.zapto.org> on Tuesday May 30, 2006 @03:50PM (#15430705) Homepage Journal
      I DID buy HL2 for the storyline and I wasn't disappointed. The game isn't narrated, per se, but the story is there for those who look for it. It's a Pulp Fiction of games, requiring you to play it a few times to catch some of the subtle hints.

      For instance, at the beginning when Gordon's teleportation goes wrong he winds up in the office of the nefarious Dr. Breen who is talking to SOMETHING on a video display.

      In one level you find an evolutionary poster showing the transparent skeletal heads of an ape, a human, and a strange human\alien "combine".

      In the opening sequence the G-man tells you "The right man in the wrong place can make all the difference in the world," and he goes on to make repeated and illogical appearances all over the game, talking to unexpected people, strolling through areas you've infiltrated while barely outrunning death itself, having just done who knows what.

      Even the graphical textures and level designs hint at a personal history of inanimate objects. The meticulous totalitarian dystopia of City 17 is complemented by the spotless streets and gleaming buildings in perfect repair. You can only speculate how much work Civil Protection, or likely the citizens themselves, put forth to keep the city clean - especially in contrast to how filthy the rest of the game is, by in large. HL2 has story all over the place in little chunks. Whether the story is cohesive is irrelevant to me, personally.

      SiN, on the other hand, is a brainless blast-a-thon that wasn't worth the effort pirating. I deleted it in 20 minutes. Nice boob physics though.
      • Re:Really? (Score:4, Interesting)

        by zr-rifle (677585) <zedr AT zedr DOT com> on Tuesday May 30, 2006 @06:50PM (#15431733) Homepage
        Half-Life's story is about videogames. More specifically, it can be read as an insight in the life of a videogame character. Note that Gordon Freeman is resurrected "on request" and placed inside the context of the game without any recollection of the previous years. Also note that the G-Man always appears to help Gordon/The Player continue through his quest. Gordon Freeman never speaks, an empty shell that encases an external entity. Furthermore, the G-Man is the only person that can pierce the fourth-wall and reach the player.

        At the end, the player is left with a very important question: "Who is Gordon Freeman?".
         
        I wish there were more games with stories like these.
        • You get my pretend +1 insightful mod. That was extremely interesting. I never really thought of it that way.
        • If you're willing to explore and interact with the characters enough, the Vortigaunts know and acknowledge that Gordon is under someone else's direct control (aside from the G-Man). The "All-Knowing Vortigaunt" makes a couple of statements to this effect, saying things like "distant eyes look out through yours" and the like. You can find out how to reach him here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vortigaunt [wikipedia.org]

          I think that Gordon doesn't speak for two reasons- one plot related and the other game-related. Plot-wise,
      • HL2 is a pale comparison to Halo 2, as far as I'm concerned. Sure it sets up tons of questions, but where are the answers? At least it's better than Half-Life 1, which was basically "repair a generator. Now repair another generator." Generator Repairman: The Game!

        I prefer my story Halo 2-style, with cut-scenes that almost bring you to tears, and when it ends you jump off the couch and run around the room because it's so, just... great. And of course it's from the company that brought you Marathon, perh
        • Re:Really? (Score:3, Interesting)

          by spyrochaete (707033)
          Haven't tried the sequel, but Halo's cut scenes were indeed very well done. However, they didn't really do anything new. I love how Half Life revolutionizes the concept of cut scenes by showing absolutely everything from the player's eyes in "real time". It's possible to see the same sequence over and over and notice new things every time. You're rewarded for being perceptive.

          For instance, in Half Life 2 when you arrive at Eli Vance's laboratory you're taken through a pretty thorough spiel bringing y
          • I thought that was extraordinarily boring. At least traditional cut scenes:

            1) have dynamic visuals and editing, so they're not dull to watch
            2) are skippable.

            The first-person-cut-scenes in HL2 were just dull, IMO. Especially the seemingly hour-long one in that lab. Of course, opinions vary.
            • I thought that was extraordinarily boring. At least traditional cut scenes:

              1) have dynamic visuals and editing, so they're not dull to watch
              2) are skippable.


              Perfectly valid points, and this model definitely represents what people expect from video games. However, traditional cut scenes have their flaws as well:
              1. They usually can't be paused
              2. They're a non-interactive element interrupting an interactive medium
              3. They're the same every time you view them
              4. Halo's cut scenes are third-person diversions to
              • We'll have to agree to disagree on this point, except for a few things:

                1) There's no difference between everybody in the game calling you Gordon, or everybody in the game calling you Arbiter/Master Chief. Additionally, I don't think there's a difference between everybody calling you Gordon or the camera pulling back to show that you are controlling Arbiter/Master Chief... either way immersion is busted, because you're reminded that it's not YOU in the game, but just a character you control.

                If you really wa
      • Re:Really? (Score:3, Interesting)

        by Altima(BoB) (602987)
        I didn't play HL2 for the story at first, because when I eventually got to Half Life 1 on the PS2 release, I really didn't see a remarkable story like what everyone was clamoring about. To me, the absolute pinnacle of early FPS storytelling was Marathon, and HL1 didn't come close to any of the Marathon games in terms of story telling. I ultimately didn't care because it was, after all, fun.

        HL2 actually surprised me by how sophisticated its narrative style was. You were thrown into its world without any init
        • Ultimately, Half Life 2 has a really intriguing story and setting (not so much in the way of characters though, its one real weakness) and is all the better for it by not spelling it all out for the player.

          For better or worse (more likely the latter), I think Valve left about 50% of the character development up to their snazzy new facial expressions engine. A lot can be said about a character (like Alyx) who not only says something, but does so with a knowing smirk or with a furrowed brow indicating tr
      • You can only speculate how much work Civil Protection, or likely the citizens themselves, put forth to keep the city clean - especially in contrast to how filthy the rest of the game is, by in large.

        That alone shoots down your own argument and underlines the problem with HL2's storytelling. At the very least in HL1 you told the very bare bones of what was going on (experiment gone bad, need to get out) but in HL2 all you know is that aliens invaded Earth and for some unknown reason after several years of

        • Re:Really? (Score:3, Informative)

          by Jorkapp (684095)
          What happened to Corporal Shepard (from HL: Opposing Forces)?

          Play the game to completion - the Gman put him in an alternate dimension (or something of the like) for all eternity to prevent him from letting the world know about Black Mesa.

          Where has Barney been?

          He escaped at the end of Blue Shift. More than likely he blended in with the crowd - so to speak - after escaping the BMRF.

          Shouldn't the Combine have known that he was at Black Mesa in HL1?

          Don't forget, the BMRF turned into a smoldering crater after th
        • Where did the Antlions come from?
          Either an earth or alien species. They run amok outside but are kept out of cities by border checkpoints and snipers.

          What happened to the Earth's military forces?
          Conquered by the aliens thanks to the treachery of Dr. Breen. He is granted some semblance of control by the aliens because he has agreed to hand them the Earth on a platter.

          Why hasn't Earth turned into an oversized model of Iraq?
          Uh... because Saddam was administered a headcrab? Because the combine do
  • by creimer (824291) on Tuesday May 30, 2006 @02:46PM (#15430161) Homepage
    The game doesn't have a flashlight, unlike HL2/DOOM3/QUAKE4. There are some darks aeas where I could've used a flashlight. I think every law enforcement officer should has some kind of flashlight, either the small pen variety or the large billy club type. Not having one is inexcusable. Otherwise, I love the game.
    • -1, Troll, for an informative post on the game's ACTUAL CONTENT? What the HECK??

      This is the fourth comment I've seen unfairly modded down in this story in the same timeframe. Whoever's doing this needs his moderator privileges revoked.
  • Far too slippery (Score:4, Insightful)

    by Spad (470073) <slashdotNO@SPAMspad.co.uk> on Tuesday May 30, 2006 @02:50PM (#15430219) Homepage
    I couldn't help but notice that whenever you're running (which is almost all the time since you run by default), any semblance of control goes out the window. It's like playing on ice half the time - you pretty much have to use "walk" for any kind of controlled navigation or platform jumping, which is annoying as you have to be running to make it across most of the gaps.

    It's also pretty buggy, with the game actually stopping at one point because the AI had "forgotten" to blow a wall that I needed to pass - thankfully there was a workaround, but I suspect that the short turnaround planned for this series will result in more bugs that usual.

    That said, aside from the length (under 4 hours playtime) it was an enjoyable FPS - although I did find myself getting by almost entirely with my pistol until the ammo started to become scarce in the later levels. One headshot will happily take out 90% of the enemies you face.
    • Re:Far too slippery (Score:2, Informative)

      by fistynuts (457323)
      I couldn't help but notice that whenever you're running (which is almost all the time since you run by default), any semblance of control goes out the window. It's like playing on ice half the time - you pretty much have to use "walk" for any kind of controlled navigation or platform jumping, which is annoying as you have to be running to make it across most of the gaps.

      I have to say that I didn't notice this at all. I've jumped across the gaps no problem and never had to use the 'walk' key.

      That sai
  • I got it, mostly because it came with the first SIN game for free. Anyways, I played through the episode in about 5 hours.
     
    As for the game, it felt like a poor-man's half-life 2, and I can't think of anything remarkable about it.
     
    I definitely won't be buying any future episodes.
  • plots in FPS (Score:3, Insightful)

    by OmegaBlac (752432) on Tuesday May 30, 2006 @03:01PM (#15430307)
    ...and Half-Life 2 has prompted a lot of story-light brainless shooters.
    Wolfenstein 3D, Doom, Quake, Duke Nukem 3D and a host of other FPS that were released way before Half-Life 2 have had little to no story at all. HL2 changed nothing.
  • by smwoflson (905752) on Tuesday May 30, 2006 @03:03PM (#15430331)
    First, I just have to write that I really miss good, old fashioned 2D games. Sure, there may be a bit of a rebirth of the genre, but nothing with the shear fun/greatness of those old Konami games (the up, up, down, down crowd) like Contra and Lifeforce. Does anyone else remeber Rush 'n Attack? That game was awesome, and all you did was run and stab. A game company could never make something like that now adays. Gamers everywhere would say "what, only 1 knife? And no camo changes? And what's with all the lineral movement?" But I digress. Part of me actually likes the idea of an episodic game. Not only does it allow a company to develop a game and its story over time. But it also allows the designers to correct gameplay issues or shortcommings as they develop. The Gamer effectively becomes a test market. As much as Blizzard annoys me with their constant server screw-ups often related to patches and tinkering with their systems, I do love the fact that WoW is continually developing. When weaknesses are shown, they can be fixed. At the same time, another part of me I really doesn't like the idea of episodic gaming. Do you have to buy all of the episodes to play one? What if I get to the game late, do I have to start from the beginning? Or what if I just don't want to shell out the $15 some month? My WoW fee annoys me enough, but this seems somehow even more insideous. It could be like those micro-payment systems that are comming around that are designed to get people comfortable with many small payments, rather than just one big initial payment for the game. And in the end you spend more than you ever would have initially. Somehow WoW's subscription fee feels less creapy to me... I guess I just don't know... we shall see...
    • Attention moderators:

      What makes this paragraph-less rant "Interesting?"

      Not only is it pretty much utterly off-topic, but we've all seen it before here on Slashdot about a billion times. Yes, a lot of Slashdot Games posters have tons of nostalgia for 2D games, we get it already. Stop posting it.
    • Look, Contra and Lifeforce were both totally rad, using the parlance of the times, when they came out. Both are pretty lame games. They are very much games that you just memorize and play through. The only reason you think they're cool now is the nostalgia factor. I mean, I played the living SHIT out of both of 'em and enjoyed them tremendously, but the fact is that the game mechanic is too simplistic to hold my attention today.

      If you had gone for Ninja Gaiden, I might have bought it, although it's pret

  • EULA nastiness (Score:4, Interesting)

    by squiggleslash (241428) on Tuesday May 30, 2006 @03:05PM (#15430342) Homepage Journal
    I saw the original SiN Episodes box for about $20 at a local store and almost bought it, before reading on the box that I have to have an online connection and sign up with Steam in order to play the game I'd have paid for. Not because it needs it (it's not a network game), but, well, no reasons given, let alone good ones.

    I don't care if Steam's a useful service or not. This whole "We'll package something in a box that you'd expect to be a more-or-less standalone product" - ok, it needs a compatible computer, but that's it - "but then we'll add strings so you can't use it without giving us enough information to sell you more crap" is getting out of control.

    No thanks, Ritual. I loved the original SiN, but I don't "subscribe" to games, I buy them.

    • Re:EULA nastiness (Score:4, Informative)

      by Schnapple (262314) <tomkidd&viatexas,com> on Tuesday May 30, 2006 @03:36PM (#15430585) Homepage
      It's true that you have to go with Steam in order to play the game, store-purchased or not. It's true you have to have a Steam account and you have to associate your purchase with Steam using an Internet connection. If these are deal-breakers for you then that's a position you're free to take. The number of people who take issue with this notion to the point of refusing to partake in HL2 or SiN:Ep is small enough to ignore.

      However, a few points to make:

      - You have to have an Internet connection all of once. If you only play SiN:Ep then you never have to have Steam online again. Like HL2, it can be played offline. Actually until the multiplayer addon is released, it's offline-only. It's not like CSS where Valve can reserve the right to ban you for cheating.

      - The main logic of having it done through Steam is to unify future updates. This way when they release new contents or patches, they do it through Steam and everyone gets it, no matter how they bought it. Ask anyone whose Direct2Drive copy of Oblivion is impossible to update how much this notion is convenient.

      Their use of Steam is less devious than you give them credit for. I think you may be confusing software licensing and episodic content.
      • The fact remains that they do not have a right to my information, or even to know I am playing it on a given computer; I have paid for the game and it's mine to do what I will with provide I'm not redistributing it without including any and all copies. I, too, will not purchase a single-player game that requires me to get online even once. Why do updates need to be unified? I want an update I can burn to a CD and put into the game box so I know where it is.
        • Then burn it to a CD. Steam lets you do that, and will even create nice CD/DVD-sized chunks and an installer for you.
        • FUD FUD AND FUD.

          NO one is forcing you to do ANYTHING against your will. Who put the damned gun to your head and asked for any info at all?

          Don't like it? Then tell them to fuck off by NOT PARTICIPATING.

          Want to have your cake and eat it too? Too fucking bad.

          However, if the game interests you, and you're not a paranoid FUD spewing attention seeking tool, then please, shut it and go play the game.
          • You know, I shouldn't feed trolls like you, but maybe you're not a troll, and you're just a fucking idiot. As a consumer I reserve the right to complain and spread the word in an effort to influence others to not purchase it because I do not approve of the business model. You, of course, have the right to attempt to be a total asshat, which you are exercising, but you can not and will not shut me up.

            I was explaining why I would absolutely not pay for this game. It is a feeling shared by thousands of oth

            • Maybe if you would stick to stating your opinion and not condemn others for not sharing the same opinion as yourself.

              But you don't, which is your right. However, it's my right to call you on that. Interesting how it works both ways isn't it?

              How many names did you call me there? And yet you label me a troll? Righto, carry on then dickweed.
    • I played HL2. I purchased it via Steam. My bank account was drained. My house was transferred into someone elses name. I get a million spam messages a day. I get sex line callback charges on my phone constantly. My identity was used to assassinate the president. I've developed rectal cancer and my eyes are falling out of their sockets...

      Oh, wait, that wasn't me. That was the other guy that didn't listen to you. No? Didn't happen to him either?

      That's right! I downloaded it effortlessly, patched it effortless
  • Delicious AI Pie (Score:4, Interesting)

    by MrSquirrel (976630) on Tuesday May 30, 2006 @03:13PM (#15430408)
    My spirits were dampened when I stormed through it in 5 hours, but I still came away from the game with a feeling of satisfaction. The idea to go with an adjusting AI that tailored itself to your gameplay was GREAT. Too many shooters have an element where you find one good technique and use it on every single enemy: "headshot...headshot...headshot", but in SiN, after a few headshots the enemies come equipped with helmets (the weapons they carry, body armor, and even their numbers differ on how you're playing). I wish more companies would take this approach -- it seems like it makes for a very versatile experience.
    • A headshot to a guy wearing a helmet is still pretty effective. It just decreases the probability of outright killing them. Try it sometime -- if you don't give yourself a concussion or a fractured skull, your ears will still ring for days.

      It's still a plain old FPS like any other where your aim as as perfect as lining up the mouse dot, even while running flat out, since your gait is about as even as a hovercraft and you never ever slip or stumble. Yippee, it's Hogans Alley except you move a little more.
      • So you're not a fan of the FPS. This game wasn't made for you. They even state so. They make no bones about it. This is not about redefining gaming, let alone the genre.

        But you know that, you just like listening to the sound of your own voice don't you?
        • > But you know that, you just like listening to the sound of your own voice don't you?

          Aww you're so cute. Yes I do. So do you, apparently.
  • That is, the actress who does the voice for Jessica also does Cortana. Only difference is the swearing in SiN. The review is basically right. $15 is a more reasonable price point. My TTGM (Time-Till-God-Mode) review is pretty good. I got through the game on hardest all the way to the final level before turning on God-mode. More variety in the enemies might have improved that. (For comparison, I've completed HL2 and Halo multiple times without God-mode, and Doom3 was so unengaging that it took less th
  • 8/10 (Score:5, Interesting)

    by mobby_6kl (668092) on Tuesday May 30, 2006 @03:17PM (#15430441)
    Hey, where's the rating!?

    I wanted to post some screenshots (see last paragraph), but instead I'll write a few sentences about the game to make this post at least somewhat useful.

    Boobies! Here's the attractive woman [imageshack.us] from the first scene. They have realistic shake physics, that's probably what Zonk meant by "fun with physics". There are some other fun aspects, like the warning signs which say "When all else fails, use crate" or com-stations (basically phone booths) where you can dial a number you see on ads.

    Shooting stuff is, I'd say, quite satisfying, although there are only 3 weapons. A very accurate and powerful piston, a shotgun, and an assault rifle. They all have alternative fire which you often have to use to kill off tougher enemies. The ones at the beginning go down with a headshot, or a shotgun blast from a close distance will send body parts flying, so that's always fun to watch. Some heavily armored fuckers at the end require a good portion of the AR mag.

    To the whole episodic concept, well I didn't find it too unreasonable. Not unlike HL2, it leaves the story hanging, but it's not much (if at all) shorter than Max Payne. Considering it's not full price, that's not very bad, although of course cheaper would be even better.

    I have a screenshot gallery with over 60 shots in it, but I decided not to post it here for two reasons: 1) I host it on my DSL line 2) I wrote the gallery perl script myself, so it's probably quite dangerous. I'll try to get a static version online, though.
  • Multiplayer. (Score:3, Informative)

    by JavaLord (680960) on Tuesday May 30, 2006 @03:25PM (#15430510) Journal
    I was a huge fan of the original SiN, but I won't even think about picking up SiN episodes until the Multiplayer is up.
  • Sin-tillating (Score:2, Insightful)

    by kin242 (789922)
    Despite the comedy breasts and the paper-thin plot, I found the game an excellent waste of not only the 7 hours at least it took me to first complete it, but the equally enjoyable 4/5 hours I took to play it again. Its not rocket science. Its not hugely original. But it is damn good fun! Yes its priced $5 too high but still- if you are looking for something fun I can heartily recommend it. I also very much enjoyed the sound- all the way through the game the sound production is excellent, and there is even
  • One thing I enjoyed was the secrets, although most were pretty easy some still have me scratching my head. I will probably play it again just to try and get the ones I couldn't figure out the first time (where you see something you can't access but you know there is a way).
  • I wouldn't pay more than $5 for an episode of any game. 5 hours of gameplay is worth about $5 bucks in my opinion. So, in response to your statement that this might be a "happy start for the age of episodic content", i'll have to say no Zonk, no it's not.
  • My Impressions (Score:3, Informative)

    by Mantrid (250133) on Wednesday May 31, 2006 @11:17AM (#15435717) Journal
    This SiN episode was a waste of money. Just was really medicore and I'm a touch bitter that it actually cost me MORE to buy it through STEAM than at the store.

    Big PASS from me!

The bogosity meter just pegged.

Working...