Forgot your password?
typodupeerror

Top Video Sharing Sites Reviewed 146

Posted by ScuttleMonkey
from the who-is-doing-it-right dept.
prostoalex writes "Digital Video Guru is running a comparison of 10 digital video sharing sites - EyeSpot Beta, Google Video Beta, Grouper Beta, Jumpcut Beta, OurMedia, Revver Beta, VideoEgg, Vimeo, vSocial and YouTube. Currently, based on traffic, YouTube is the leader of the pack (more heavily visited MSN Video does not support user-uploaded videos), but Digital Video Guru blog awards Vimeo for fastest uploads, JumpCut for editing, and YouTube for community features."
This discussion has been archived. No new comments can be posted.

Top Video Sharing Sites Reviewed

Comments Filter:
  • by Samir Gupta (623651) on Saturday April 08, 2006 @10:58PM (#15093434) Homepage
    Most of Europe and China, if you try to access Google Video, you are told it's not available in your country yet. Why they have this restriction by unilaterally banning ALL videos from users of said countries is beyond me.

    Is it legal (due to censorship policies)? Than why do the other sites not have this?

    This is a major detractor of Google Video's usability in my opinion.
  • by bogaboga (793279) on Saturday April 08, 2006 @11:03PM (#15093447)
    When Google announced Google Video, I naturally checked it out. I was impressed with a wide array of titles. But what dissappinted me most was the inability to adjust the brightness/contrast of the videos. Some titles are just too dark!

    At first I thought it was my version of flash. But even after getting the latest, those videos are still too dark. To make matters worse, there does not seem to be an effort to sort this issue out. We need some common video controls on some these videos for sure.

    On Kubuntu' Konqueror browser, the controls that at least appear on Windows2k with Firefox 1.5 do not appear at all!

  • Re:Lame (Score:2, Interesting)

    by niteice (793961) <icefragment@gmail.com> on Saturday April 08, 2006 @11:08PM (#15093464) Journal
    Would you prefer 1 Flash plugin or 4 seperate video plugins?
  • Re:Lame (Score:2, Interesting)

    by Zaplocked (925208) on Saturday April 08, 2006 @11:08PM (#15093465)
    Much better than making you choose between wmv/quicktime/realplayer imo - I'm able to view these in our linux lab when I'm taking a break from whatever cs stuff I might be working on.
  • Torrent (Score:5, Interesting)

    by From A Far Away Land (930780) on Saturday April 08, 2006 @11:18PM (#15093489) Homepage Journal
    I haven't RTFA, but is there a place that lets you post a video, and it automatically offers a Torrent of the video for download? It seems like a good way for a popular video to get around quickly without causing any one server a huge bandwidth bill.
  • by Anonymous Coward on Saturday April 08, 2006 @11:31PM (#15093522)
    which site is the youtube of Pr0n?
  • by jpardey (569633) <j_pardeyNO@SPAMhotmail.com> on Sunday April 09, 2006 @12:32AM (#15093675)
    Forgive me not being able to memorize the script... "Yes, it cost me a million dollars to run this newspaper this year, and I expect it to cost me a million dollars to run this newspaper the next year, and the year after that. At this rate, I am going to have to shut down this newspaper in... 63 years."
  • by Anonymous Coward on Sunday April 09, 2006 @12:51AM (#15093723)
    "U.S. Physicists, ~1900 already, sign a petition expressing strong repudiation of the new US nuclear weapons policies, giving Bush the power to nuke without asking the congress and considers use on Iran. The UC San Diego Physicist and signatory to the petition Dr. Jeorge Hirsch warns about the consequences if U.S. deploys nukes through a 10' video." here [digg.com].

    I wonder how long will it pass until this video is on all this video sharing services :-).

  • by British (51765) <british1500@gmail.com> on Sunday April 09, 2006 @01:35AM (#15093802) Homepage Journal
    Ups:

    Lots of fun copyrighted content. full episodes of the state, aeon flux, etc
    Nice & searchable
    subscriptions to keywords. I just wish it would default sort by most recently added
    LOTS of obscure 80s content
    LOTS of obscure 80s music videos
    Nice user interaction tools
    Groups!

    Downs:
    WAY too much anime crap on there - I swear 70% is anime footage.
    Way too much 'crap' footage like teenagers lip syncing to some rap song. make it friends only
    Searches for keyword stuff eventually lead to more anime crap
    They are cracking down on copyrighted stuff - I got an email from "DCMA" when i posted a conan o'brien clip on there. It's now gone.
    The speed of downloading videos is throttled to be less than realtime. You have to instantly hit pause when the page loads, then hit play when it's done
    sometimes, even if you have ahead-buffer loaded, it stops for 5-10 seconds and resumes playing. Only happens on certain videos
    No more videos allowed that are 12+ minutes.

    Youtube is addicting, plain and smiple.

Your program is sick! Shoot it and put it out of its memory.

Working...