Follow Slashdot blog updates by subscribing to our blog RSS feed


Forgot your password?

Gamespot Previews World of Starcraft 116

ScaryFroMan writes "Gamespot has a preview up of Blizzard's new MMO, World of Starcraft. From the article: "To put it mildly, the human brain cannot possibly fathom and the English language cannot possibly express how amazingly incredible the next massively multiplayer game from Blizzard is going to be. First screens and details!""
This discussion has been archived. No new comments can be posted.

Gamespot Previews World of Starcraft

Comments Filter:
  • by isecore (132059) <isecore&isecore,net> on Saturday April 01, 2006 @07:05PM (#15043479) Homepage
    AWESOME! This is obviously soooo true judging from all the other news here today.

    OMG. Ponies!!!!
  • by dilvie (713915) on Saturday April 01, 2006 @07:07PM (#15043485) Homepage Journal
    "It's time to drop out of school, quit your job, divorce your spouse, disown your children, cancel your gym membership, upgrade your PC, and clear out your schedule for World of Starcraft." Sounds about right to me. ;)
  • by Kelson (129150) * on Saturday April 01, 2006 @07:10PM (#15043489) Homepage Journal
    ...until I got to the part about it being a free download. Shyeah, right!
  • Oh My Gawd (Score:5, Funny)

    by OverlordQ (264228) on Saturday April 01, 2006 @07:10PM (#15043490) Journal
    PONY RUSH ekekekekekekekekkekeke!
  • We wanted World of PONEY God blizzard cant get anything right...
    • by Anonymous Coward
      I came to here because it's like this cool page with ponies and kittens. What's with all the computer game talk? OMG It's like a nerd website LOL!!!11!!
  • Zerg are way cuter than all of the stuff in the poll.. Their slimy little faces, cute little fangs and claws, horrid bondage sex involving decapitation.. I CANT WAIT FOR THIS GAME!!! OMG 3
  • I wish, it would be really cool to see a Starcraft MMO. Now If-Only ghost would come out first.
  • Wishing? (Score:5, Insightful)

    by bradleyland (798918) on Saturday April 01, 2006 @07:12PM (#15043499)
    Am I the only one wishing this story were true?
    • I'm wishing it was true also sounds alot cooler then the run of the mill fantasy style mmorpgs like WoW that are murdering the genre no matter how good the games are
    • Nope :)
    • If some one could make a game that is even half of what that game sounds then that would be sweet. Too bad its utter crap. A game like that would make games worth playing. But to imagine a game being written in the near future that meets those expectations is not a good idea. Imagine the pain in debugging something that huge. A game that size would be a hundred times as complex as the microsoft kernel (which is something like 50 million lines of code). Anyway whats the pony thing? I misses that posting...
    • So theorically it wouldn't be too hard to create a "World of Starcraft"... It would require a graphical overhaul, but thats nothing since they managed put some Starcraft units in Warcraft 3 as easter eggs. Gameplay-wise, its all there, PvE, PvP, raids/armies, fighting on mounts = vehicles, melee combat, ranged combat etc.

      Then theres the nitpicking, but otherwise its all there. Storyline, key NPCs, THREE seperate sides with openings for cross-cooperation, planets and locations they can pull out of their ass.

    • Am I the only one wishing this story were true?


    • ive been dreaming of this for years. i even wrote out my idea of how it should be done. one day, when i work for blizzard...
  • the screenshots were convincing. The catch is that they mentioned BurgerCraft, which instantly gave it away.
  • Since I already went out and spent all my cash on DNF. :(

    (And Ponies!)

  • ....makes me realize that we will probably never see this as a MMO game. Can you imagine what a nightmare it would be to balance, while still keeping true to the "uniqueness" of the Starcraft races like the article tries to do?
  • Sorry... (Score:4, Funny)

    by Robotron23 (832528) on Saturday April 01, 2006 @07:18PM (#15043516) Homepage
    The English language cannot possibly express how amazingly incredible the next massively multiplayer game from Blizzard is going to be.

    But unless the game has ponies, WITH glitter option, and WITH several special shades of pink also optional - then it simply won't be "amazingly incredible" will simply be "incredible."

    The game will retain incredible status due to an innovative "Zerg mating game" - basically new Zerg characters can only be created when two Zergs engage in an amusing mating ceremony minigame, the Revolution version requires a "thrusting" motion using the cool new pad. Sadly PC gamers have to make do with simple button-combo pressing, a la Parappa the Rapper.

    HOWEVER due to the conservative nature of Blizzard devs/GMs, mating is only possible when married, a long...long process requiring much commitment. AND while Zerg/Protoss nudity is commended, Terran nudity is discouraged - all we are treated to are a few "moaning noises" with the screen fading to black for 1-60 minutes depending on your "intercourse" skill. :(

    [ob]Mod insightful!![/ob]
  • Scary thing is... (Score:5, Insightful)

    by Shivetya (243324) on Saturday April 01, 2006 @07:18PM (#15043518) Homepage Journal
    World of Starcraft would be about the only game that could challenge World of Warcraft in subscription numbers.

    • Could it also rival WoW's server downtime? I never realized how much of the world was in to S&M until I saw WoW's subscription numbers.
    • So you would pretty much have to assume that when the subscription numbers for WoE dwindlers down, then they would start on WoS.

      I dunno how well RPG elements would work in the Starcraft universe though, as Warcraft seems to be more hero-based (hadn't played it, so don't sue me). It probably will work, but I would imagine it having alot of FPS moments.

      That's said, I like Starcraft more than Warcraft. Becuse I prefer Science fiction over fantasy. I been thinking on trying WoW one of thoose days though, but I
  • I must credit them for their two fake screenshots.

    Where's those 3D Starcraft characters from? Starcraft Ghost? That secret little Warcraft 3 map? Hmm...
  • I came to Slashdot today by searching Google. Turns out this site has nothing to do with pink Ford Mustangs. OMG!
  • Heyyyyyyyyy (Score:5, Funny)

    by thePig (964303) <> on Saturday April 01, 2006 @07:29PM (#15043549) Journal
    I dropped out of school, quit the job, divorced my spouse, disowned my children, upgraded my PC, and cleared out the schedules AND THE WHOLE THING WAS A &(*&(*% APRIL FOOL'S JOKE.
        Good thing I didnt cancel my gym membership.
  • by GeorgeMcBay (106610) on Saturday April 01, 2006 @07:32PM (#15043557)
    The absolute worst part of April 1st isn't the deluge of stupid "pranks" listed on sites like Slashdot, but rather the few gems of stories that you WISH were true and could/should be true, but aren't.

    As a former but recovered WoW addict, I can say that you'd get my $60 and monthly dues again for at least another year and a half if you made this happen, Blizzard. I'd love to play a GOOD sci-fi MMORPG.
  • English? (Score:3, Funny)

    by mattjb0010 (724744) on Saturday April 01, 2006 @07:33PM (#15043561) Homepage
    the English language cannot possibly express how amazingly incredible the next massively multiplayer game from Blizzard is going to be
    "WoS is t3h r0x0r" is English?
  • Korea first (Score:4, Funny)

    by Erioll (229536) on Saturday April 01, 2006 @07:38PM (#15043567)
    I especially liked how it would be out in Korea first.

    Nice touch.
  • by Anonymous Coward

    Yeah lets all hype Blizzard while overlooking their spyware []

  • by guru8376 (695028)
    So i guess i should try and get my money back from that guy on ebay...
  • In reply to the guy earlier, yeah, I'd love it too. But at the same time, I know they'd screw it up so bad. So I'd rather have a Starcraft 2. Even Ghost would be nice. I mean come on! How many times are they going to postpone/ hold indefinately?
    • it's blizzard.

      we should only have to wait another console generation before they get it together (reffering to PS4, Xbox 720, Nintendo Mindblower).

      I remember (and still have it) where one of the blizzard games has an advert for Diablo II coming in I think it's 1997, the game was finnaly released in 2000.

      Ghost was announced back in what? 2001? went through two production companies and 3 engines (IIRC) only to be canned again. so IF they were to ever do a world of starcraft or starcraft II we wouldn'
  • by m0u5y (939846)
    A someone else previously stated... omg ponies.
  • God i wish it werent april fools. I would love to play a good non-fantasy MMORPG. When the hell is tabula rasa coming out? Fucking ponies...
    • Vendetta Online []. I like it. Plus, we're approaching a big new release. Some features (new station UI, new ship class) are already in; more are about to appear. Cool stuff, man. (This Post Is Not An April Fool's Day Post)
      • Yeah, but i want something thats not just ships. I guess i want it all, charcter, ships, planets, stations. Much like what the article described. Something like KotOR, but with more ships and ship combat too. I had an idea for an awsome Cowboy Bebop themed MMORPG, but no studio is ever gonna make a good anime game, so its not worth wishing.
  • This really could be cool if they decided to do it.

    I think it'd work better as a MMFPS, though. Something like Planetside, but with the different races and then some factions within those races. Terrans fighting Terrans, Protoss teaming up with one Zerg hive to hold off another hive, etc. Make the whole thing built around PVP instead of PVE.

    Oh, well.
    • StarCraft:Ghost Multiplayer!

      Who's with me!?
    • lol nice one guys. Not a totally retarded idea. I liked how the gamespy guys kissed up to the 'developers' though by saying that having less choice in terms of races made the game "quicker" to play. Lol, it really does sound like their style of take spin as the gospel truth attitude. And burgercraft was classic. Not that horrific and idea for high density population areas though. Think of all the starving game that can't get flat foods and Irn bru 32/red bull at 2 in the morning. I cry for them every nigh
  • by CrazyJim1 (809850) on Saturday April 01, 2006 @08:38PM (#15043726) Journal
    I liked when I leveled my hydrolisk to 40 fast and evolved into a Lurker. I just walked into one of the pkenabled towns and no one had a siege tank yet, they were all marines,scv or firebats. I just burrowed in and scored tons of kills while people screamed "Griefer. Lurker, don't go in there, I told you not to. Why you going back again."

    I think next time I'll play a dark templar and merge with someone else's dark templar at 40. Sure one guy controls the movement and the other the mind control, but its fun to mind control an scv and have him harvest minerals for me so we can ebay them. I think by the month's end I'll have an army of chinese SCV mining minerals for me and then I can totally sell Battlecruisers on ebay.
  • 4/1 must be the most boring day on Slashdot. All there is is fake news, which means the parallel universe that mirrors our own is having a lot of interesting things happen, but we aren't. The day the world stood still? 4/1.

    I find it funny how the terms 'gay' and 'straight' are part of the tags for every single 4/1 post. Why?
  • It's only funny when it doesn't make me cry that this didn't happen. Starcraft was so much more interesting than Warcraft.
  • by PDog91 (965403)
    I think I would kill to get this game, I mean this is all I ever asked wow to be.
  • What really disturbs me is that the folks at Gamespot came up with what sounded like a pretty workable way to put in a race like the Zerg into an MMORPG as an April fool's joke. I thought the whole idea of World of Starcraft sounded extremely cool, but the Zerg race notes sounded like it might be a workable game mechanic...
  • While this is clearly a joke post, the idea is pretty cool. A large scale RTS, where some players act as officers (giving directions), and others act as grunts (and get to plaster "real" people), would be pretty cool. I suppose once the THz processors come out, this will be a blast!
  • if blizzard did something other than add stuff to world of warcraft! Seriously, what is up with them? Don't they made games anymore?

    Eight years later, all of their fans are still waiting for starcraft II...
  • Can we stop all this crap and just release StarCraft 2??
  • I think that what makes it worse is that people still play the first Starcraft. If it was an MMORPG I think we'd all die.
  • Seriously, I'm beginning to think Blizzard specifically hates my particular demographic. I knew this would be an April Fool's joke, but remembering prior jokes that turned out later to be true (Gmail anyone?) one always hopes. And it had me going, too, until they reached the BurgerCraft part.

    Damnit, Blizzard made a great game in Starcraft and then totally shut down that whole franchise. Millions of people would gnaw off their hands for an opportunity to play Starcraft 2, and yet Blizzard dumps it
  • drop out of school, quit your job, divorce your spouse, disown your children, cancel your gym membership, upgrade your PC, and clear out your schedule for World of Starcraft

    Dammit, I totally fell for this one!

    Now I have to go tell my former employer, my ex-wife, and the nuns at the orphanage that it was all just a joke! Thanks a lot pinkdot.

  • Are this article and pictures cached anywhere? I think I missed my chance to dream.
  • I don't mean believe the story, I mean if they had a Starcraft MMORPG, I'd play it. I'd play a 40K mmorpg also.
    • Man, they got me. I couldnt find the info on gamespot, so i was googleing it. Looks like a bunch of other wish this game was real too. We should write Blizzard. Who knows? We might get lucky.


Another megabytes the dust.